August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Highway Hero

by raincole - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**Post-combo version is available now. The only new stuffs are minimap and a few sounds.**

(For linux users: you can download .love file from Github repository)

Every hero has his destination. These are always barriers on the road of
honor.
But what if you have only 10 seconds to overcome all these hazards?

Control:

Drag and drop the icons on the left side to arrange your actions.
Click GO to start an adventure.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#30Innovation4.00
#76Theme3.82
#202Overall3.46
#266Fun3.30
#377Graphics3.20
#531Humor2.26
#580Mood2.70
#958Audio1.33

Comments

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

Hahaha Fun , good game

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

I liked the concept of the controls/slider bar. quite neat!

no sound?
Was a little unclear on what I was doing at first but did pretty well after I got it.

good use of the theme

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

Sorry for no sound. I'm really ran out of time in this LD.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

I'm -> I
Sorry again for my grammar lol

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Nice entry! It was a little difficult and meticulous, though.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

Nice, but I wish I could see the stage in order to plan. As it is, I could rely only on a trial and error to find out the correct solution.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

This is a really cool concept. I agree with pvwradtke though, I wish I could see the rest of the level in advance, or even maybe a small map. Really fun though!

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

Took me a bit to understand the concept, but it turned out to be very enjoyable. Very clean execution!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

Neat little game you have here. You should definately expand and improve this one!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

This would probably be way better on touch than it is with mouse. Still, good concept & good execution.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

I like your game. Has really nice colours and drawings.

I would really like to see what lays in the path for our hero, so I could plan before hand, insted of relying on trial and error.

I also like the fact that you introduce items in a "safe" environment. Don't know how to explain this with better words, but I saw what you did there.

7/10 would play again.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38am

I really liked the idea of the scroll bar as a puzzle game. Neat!!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

Fun and easy to play, though a bit too much trial and error for my tastes. It would be nice to be able to see where the enemies are on the left to help gauge, but as it stands it's still a quality piece.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

Finished the first lvl without knowing what to do, still the idea is really good, polishing it would make a great game

EpaceGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40am

Great concept! Took me a minute to understand how to play, but can become addictive. I beat level 6 with 0.2 seconds on the clock. I can't figure out level 8.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44am

Yeah, this was definitely cool. I'd love to see it expanded.

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19am

This is a really cool idea. I enjoyed it a lot. Polish it up and ship it as a full game!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

Very cool game. Nice job!

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Looking ahead of the path would have helped, but learning from your mistakes is also a fun way to play.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Nice

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

This game is adorable. It's got a very EYEZMAZE-style feel to it (eyezmaze.com). The only drawback is that sometimes the trial and error nature of the game becomes very obvious. Great work, I'd really like to see this built upon in some way.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Great gameplay mechanic, very well done with the theme!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

Neat battle engine. I managed to beat all ten levels, but most of them I seemed to complete by trial and error.

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Completed! Awesome entry as always.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Fun game, I enjoyed it!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Funny one, good job

vrld says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Innovative take on the theme, with solid graphics and user interface, so it's a real bummer the game isn't too much fun :/

Freut says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

good job! i love this game :D

Vaalen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Really good game ! You did a great job and the concept is very original. One of my favourite game until now.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

One of the better uses of the theme imo. I like that it's an tactical game looking like an action game. Nice job!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:40am

This is a lot of fun! Simple mechanics and nice challenge!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:13am

Great game concept! Simple, but well-made graphics.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Really innovative concept! It's a little hard to get the hang of it at first, but then it gets much better when you start to learn the timing of things. Great use of theme! Gonna check out the post compo version now!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Pretty cool game. I've never seen these kind of mechanics before, so I enjoyed it. Was a little difficult at times without any hints or real obvious solution but it made it difficult and it didn't bore me so maybe that was a good thing. Nice work anyway.

gamepopper says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:25pm

A bit confusing at first, but very strategic kind of game. Really good. :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I really like the mechanic in this game. I would love to see it explored in further detail.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

i like the mechanics of the game - graphics were nice -- solid effort

klianc09 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice and easy to understand mechanic. I would like to cancel a run, as soon as I see that I made something wrong, instead of having to watch all the 10 seconds everytime. It would also be cool, if you could mark on the timeline where you want change state while it is running, then it would become less trial and error and more strategic planning.

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Basically the game is trial and error and if it provides more information for the player (like navigate around or give information about each action) in the planning stage then it will be better

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Really fun game when I understood what to do. :D

The "retry" button felt unnecessary and it would be nice if you could abort during a round if you realize that you won't make it. I don't like to sit and wait when I already know what to change. :D

Well done! :)

raver says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Great game idea, please add some juicy sounds!

euske says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:50pm

This is a very interesting concept. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]