August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1000ms

by Loren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello and welcome to 1000ms, the fast-paced eye-candysplosion fun time!

=>Seizure Warning: This game has bright flashing colors <=

Four modes of play!

Choose from:
1x10 Sprint : 10 bars close in 1 second
1x10 Crazy Rush : 10 bars close in 1 second with points multipliers!
10x10 Stroll : 10 bars close in 10 seconds
10x10 Point Rush: 10 bars close in 10 seconds with points multipliers!

Each bar has a number value 1-10 (1-0 on your keyboard)

Hit the appropriate key and clear a bar in non-rush modes.

Bars don't clear in rush modes for MORE POINTS!

Get the points, have fun, mash your keyboard to bits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Graphics3.62
#257Audio3.07
#489Mood2.81
#593Theme3.14
#661Innovation2.82
#762Humor1.92
#775Overall2.84
#842Fun2.57
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

I'm getting a black screen on Firefox and Chromium.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

I have no idea what I'm doing, just spamming 1-0 keys - apparently I on though, so yay?

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

I got 10983 points, but i can't explayne how. Maybe if i could read more carefully....

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

I'm getting a black screen on firefox too.
Looks good though.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21am

The sprint and crazy modes appeared to be both crazy... I could only get 1 or 2 lines out at those levels and that's because the game telegraphs the first line. The other two modes are more interesting.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

Thanks for the bug reports! I think the black screen issues are resolved now. The 1 second rounds are supposed to be whacky :) I added the 10 second ones to act as a more relaxed experience, I'm glad you enjoyed them!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26am

hahaha, well that was interesting. Can't get more than 30000 in the 10 second modes, but I feel like getting a high score takes a back seat to the pretty colors... which are indeed bright and pretty, and is what you do so well!

Quick review: Not much of a game, but bright pretty colors were excellent :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

I do not understand why everything happens o.O. The game is too confusing

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

My highest score in "score rush" was 10206.

The one-second modes are basically trolling. :)

agmcleod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Like others i did find the speed a bit confusing at first. In a revision, maybe name them in addition to 10 x 10.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

yeah I tried to add some better descriptions in this post. Would have been better to add them in-game too

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Excellent game! The graphics are just brilliant :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

very difficult, took me a moment to realize what I am doing. I wonder how 1x10 Sprint and 1x10 Crazy Rush are supposed to be possible though, they seem to end in two seconds.

jeffibacache says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

I'm just spamming keys, I will try it stoned :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00am

117257 points on 10x10 Point Rush.

Loved the art direction, it's so... you.
Had fun, was a good game. :)

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12am

awesome effects. well done!

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

it have nice look but I don't know what do I read the instructions and it tells me to press keys fast from 0 to 9

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Pretty cool once I figured it out (feeling slow today). Always a fan of a good Loren color palette :)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice. First couple rounds were random button mashing, but once I got it, I felt like a champion.
Terrific work.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51am

F YEAH. Not super intuitive but in a way that only means figuring it out makes you feel really dang good about yourself. Superb use of color and style as usual.

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

This is the most dazzling random number generator ever @_@

Jokes aside though, this is really neat - especially the 10x10 modes

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11am

Intense colors! This is an unusual game by it's appreciated.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Aaaaaaaand another winner by Loren. Nice work there!

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

100000pts or so in 10*10. Insane game, very satisfying audio & flashy colors even if there's pretty much no gameplay. MASH MOAR

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:52am

Audio and graphics were pretty good! I had no idea what I was doing first. :P After learning how to play I came to the conclusion that I'm just too slow for these kind of games. Nice entry! :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:26am

Looks great. Sounds great. Not 100% that 10 keys at once isn't too much for my brain to cope with though! Also, this is a new keyboard and I'm scared to mash it too hard...

netgrind says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:46pm

So many shapes. I really dug your particle effects.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Haha, I think I'm waaay too slow for this game :) But it is pretty!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Great visual flair as always! I'm a bad touch typist so the Stroll mode is the only one I had much of a chance in :) Very polished.

Jimanzium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:26am

I have no idea what just happened

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Lovely idea! The colors make it much more appealing and confusing.

Also I think I did just get motion-sick from that one :P

tigerj says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

I don't know what I am doing but it's REALLY fun and looks AMAZING!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]