August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TooLoong

by euske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reach the end of a busy street without being knocked out by nasty people! Use powerups wisely, which last exactly TEN SECONDS.

NOTICE on Linux version: you need to install an Arial-compatible font.

EDIT: the goal is to gain more score (not just to reach the end), which you will find difficult when you use too many powerups.

EDIT: a bug that your speed hasn't been reset after replaying was fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#368Audio2.87
#441Humor2.44
#626Fun2.83
#772Mood2.46
#878Innovation2.52
#906Overall2.68
#925Theme2.70
#1031Graphics2.07

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11am

I think I had a seizure.

Good idea, just holy crap is there a lot going on at once.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00am

Good concept idea. The road is a little bit overcrowed but fun game :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Great idea, but 10 seconds is too short. x)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

A lot of stuff on the gaming screen :D

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22am

nice game
but that timer on screen is so big :D

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15pm

There are waaay to many powerups; it's basically a continuous powerup game.

Good effort nonetheless!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Great dynamic feel

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

Yesssss all of the things on the screen forever!

In all honesty it might be too much but still, I like experiences like that, when everything just gets thrown at you

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

Powerups are too frequent, only difficulty is the fact that the jump powerup is quite bad. Interesting game that could use some rebalancing.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34pm

The powerups are actually counter-productive as they prevent you from getting any score.

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Yay! I got a smiley face!
It's a bit too easy- the biggest challenge is putting up with the overwhelming visuals.
The tile texture of the ground was strange- sometimes it didn't move at all, sometimes it went really fast. It never seemed to move at the speed of the character, this just added to the overwhelming-ness.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:30am

Abit too overcrowded bt fun for a fast play :)

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Nice little race game, it was fun. It could be improved by polish it a bit more with effects and better graphics.

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Lovely audio! Crowded it is indeed; makes it a bit chaotic.
Power-ups could be more fun - it is a bit boring to do nothing while waiting for 10 seconds to pass; but judging by the title that's maybe the point :P
Well other than that's it's a really fun game; I loved it!

goyal says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:25am

Nicely done.

The countdown timer takes the whole screen. Its too hard to see anything behind it. May be a little transparency on it will help. 10 sec feels really long when watching the count down timer on the screen.

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:37am

I really liked the music in this!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice work ! Very fun ;)

goerp says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:23am

haha, LOVED the music!

Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice game, but the countdown should be smaller, you can't see a thing behind it... :(

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I like the continous flow of basic shapes. You just need to polish the balance of things going on, as others said, and you'll have a great simple racer. Congrats.

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Actually quite fun, but 10 seconds was a bit long for the powerup duration. And the giant numbers blinking over the games were annoooooying! Good work otherwise!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]