August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Precious10

by Vico - Jam Entry

Precious10 can be seen as a mix of Fruit Ninja and Bejeweled (just because of the gems, actually :D). The whole game takes 10 seconds - hey, whole game. It means that once you open it, clock is ticking. Fair? Not sure... but this adds some desperation for sure, and THAT is fun. Do you see the gems up there, with a red X? Those are the ones you must NOT destroy, otherwise your score decreases.

We hope you have as much fun as we had with our game! :D

How to install it on an Android device?
1. Allow app installs from 'unknown sources' (in Parameters > Security)
2. Transfer the .apk to your device (by email for instance)
3. Install application by clicking on the file

...---***!!! UPDATE !!!***---...
If you don't own an Android device, you can try this: http://youwave.com - Get the one with Android version 4.0.4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#190Theme(Jam)3.33
#210Audio(Jam)3.06
#268Graphics(Jam)3.35
#336Fun(Jam)2.82
#364Mood(Jam)2.69
#389Overall(Jam)2.90
#534Innovation(Jam)2.29

Comments

rodrigobozza says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

And it's done! :D

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35am

Addictive, but incredibly frustrating, I kept exciting because the buttons were moving around!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Android-Only? Bold Choice :P

Vico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

@gameXcore: Thanks for the comment! Yeah, we know it's not fair at all - it actually didn't mean to be. In the end, our intention was to apply our fresh knowledge on Android dev to make something playable, yet frustrating. Have you tried pausing the game? There's another "troll" feature there. :-)

@matthias_zarzecki: Thanks for the comment! Yeah, this time it's Android only - we've just had our first Android classes in our post graduation in the university, and we wanted to apply what we've just been taught on making something. ;-)

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

No android here. :( Would be neat if you could put up a gameplay video. :)

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Can't vote since it's android only and I don't have one, sorry :(

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Can't play the game but i'll rate your graphics cause they look very clean and solid.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Can't play :( but the art looks nice. :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

Hilarious concept with the clock ticking even during the main menu and when the game is paused. It was way to hard for me though, and I kept accidentally tapping through my high score. Fun! My best was 700.

Vico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

@Meep: Thanks for the comment! Uploading 2 gameplay videos at this very moment! Will post the links to the entry description once finished! :D

@Croze, @Jhelle, @BradleySmith: Thanks for the comment! We really meant to use our fresh Android dev knowledge so developing it for Android was our extra challenge. We didn't use any engines that could export for several platforms - sorry for that.

@patrickgh3: Thanks for the comment! We're glad someone other than us liked it! LOL! :D

Vico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

@Meep: Put the 2 videos in only one and uploaded... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxcKqW8LB68

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23am

Can't play without android, but graphics look pretty nice.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Good! But you could make some jewel that extends the time. Just 10 seconds is too short.

Vico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

Yep, we actually thought about making the "right" jewels to increase the timer by 1 and "wrong" jewels to decrease it by one second, so we didn't need to have a score down there, being the final score the amount of seconds the player survived... but at a certain point, we thought the game would be "enjoyably frustrating"/"frustratingly enjoyable" if we just kept the 10 seconds as the total length of a game...

rissatto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

If the score is negative, the application should uninstall by self huehuehue

rissatto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

My last 3 scores: -100, -200, -300

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51am

cool

nikneym says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Good graphics, funny game.

Vico says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35am

Hey guys - Post-Mortem version uploaded - Download link up there. Original is still there, and now there's a more "player friendly" version. ;)

Tritax says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

Unable to play, but looks nice.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:07am

It's fruit ninja, with a VERY INTERESTING touch,

I love it, here, all my fives for you.

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Kinda hard, but pretty fun. Good job, guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]