August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Tower Defence

by filtoid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's your first day on the job building and maintaining the defences for the city. Unfortunately there is an attack incoming - and 25 waves of increasingly tough enemies (I'm not sure why they aren't all coming at once or sending the toughest people first but this is the way it is!) will be headed your way with a new wave appearing every 10 seconds. You will need to place towers by selecting them from the picture list in the top right then placing them on appropriate locations around the path the enemy will take. If you wish to sell any of the towers you have placed or to restart or upgrade any towers the buttons to do these are in the bottom right corner. Please defend the city - we are counting on you.

It's still a work in progress - there is no sound and I would have liked more variety with the enemy graphics BUT it is a fully working tower defence and it is possible to beat all the waves - although this is quite tricky.

PLEASE NOTE - This has been developed in Firefox so it works in that browser - I did give it a quick go in Chrome adn everything seemed fine. Don't know about IE or safari or Opera. Would be good to hear your experiences but I'm only supporting Firefox and Chrome officially. (Sorry about that)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

SumGato says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

The link is for LD26... :/

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

Link is for LD26, I used this to get to the game: http://www.philjeffes.co.uk/ld27/g/

Pretty competent tower defense game. I like the vibrant colors

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Aahhh why was the reset button right next to the other controls :(

Well, it wasn't bad, and up until I hit reset I was enjoying it :)

filtoid says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Ahhh sorry - you were absolutely right - wrong ld - thanks for posting correct link - i have now fixed the existing link.

@SumGato & @nicotuason - Thanks for taking the time to let me know


@BipolarDesign - duly noted will edit - sorry about your experience.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Would be nice to see how much cost before placing but not a bad tower defence. Runs fine in Chrome

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I won, solid LDTD :-)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:28am

Nice, complete tower defense game. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

filtoid says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:52am

@XaiZil - Thanks for checking Chrome - the cost does appear above the picture of the tower when selected but you're right it should be easier to see than it is.

@Sergey - Thanks - glad you liked it.

@Jupiter - Thanks for playing it - I'm impressed at how many games you've reviewed. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]