August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Continuing running

by Badrpas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run/jump from one point to another.

Left, Right - moving
Up - jump
R - restart

Not done:
- Nice animation
- Rolling
- Grab to corners
- Stable acceleration on corners

Done:
- Checkpoints
- Sliding on walls
- Jumping against wall
- Tiled .lua files reading
- Box2d world... again like first-time



Dat Box2d... I whish I could learn it not by LD time.


If you're get stuck at start - just restart game.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#603Theme3.13
#708Fun2.74
#820Overall2.78
#879Humor1.68
#895Innovation2.49
#897Audio1.65
#941Mood2.17
#1016Graphics2.10

Comments

uaBArt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59am

i like it

return 0xFF;

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

Could of been a great game if it had more responsive controls and Super Meat Boy physics.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49am

I love the acceleration aspect to jumping, and the wall climbing. It's a great idea. Good work.

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11am

Great game pal ! Nice mazes, didn't see that one coming :D A little tricky to handle, but once you get the hang of it, it's really nice. A little repetitive music would have been perfect to drive people crazy on no time. :)
One little thing : the character's arm on the falling/jumping animation seems to be cut off, it's really bothering me for no valid reason XD

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Fun. Wall jumping is always enjoyable.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

It reminds me N+ video game ! Nonetheless, i was a bit frustrated by the controls. Good job anyway !

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07pm

A nice platformer, should expand a bit on making the acceleration part more clear and understandable since it is used quite a bit if you want to be fast enough.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Really enjoyable, you can never go wrong with wall-jumping

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:32am

'Fraid the game wouldn't run for me, it just got stuck on the first screen and when I clicked the screen it became not responsive and crashed :/ Windows 7 64 bit

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

I really liked the wall jumping. Fun little game. Good Job!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07am

Definitely one of the better platformers this LD

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:26am

A maze-based platformer? Not really the most original idea, but actually kind of fun anyway. I got badly stuck at one point and could not figure out what to do at all...

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:22pm

It entertained me for a good while. GJ!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

NICE! A little bit hard to master mechanics, but anyways I loke this entry!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:34am

Fun platformer. Cool use of the theme as well!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

It's lagging for me really badly. And the world tends to disappear. Is it only me?

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

That last level! Took me awhile to figure out I had to gain more momentum by backtracking. Too bad you didn't get some slick animations done for the runner. Good use of the theme and varied level layouts. Kinda reminds me of a trim mirror's edge.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Good fun, with some control polish this could be great!

brobutter says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Kinda generic, but props for using SDL and actually making something within the time limit!

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

The idea is fine, but the controls make me furious.

Only the Win8 version worked for me, the other went nuts when moving.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Very interesting entry. It is unfortunate that most of this game's difficulty comes from the less than functional controls, because I can see very clearly that you have a good sense of level design. You were trying to create maze like levels to confuse the player, but your platforming engine is so broken players were just getting confused by trying to move.

murilo says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Ok, I know it had to be done quickly. But would've been great to have responsive controls! I really like the levels and wall jumping! Although just a stick man, he's somewhat different and I like his design.

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:44am

Really good idea and overall pretty well executed. More clarity as to what is happening would be useful though. It took me a bit to figure out the difference between the save buttons and the end goals. Making the jump just a little better without running would have decreased my frustration considerably without making it too much easier but it might already be at a sweet spot for other people. Excellent use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]