August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tears of the Sorrow Beast

by artmdk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press the arrow keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Sinuath says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Killer artwork!

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Wow, I love the art. The concept is also very nice.

xaby says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I don't realy understand what to do. When all eyes are closed and only black diamants came out ... what do I have to do?

artmdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Hey xaby, Collect the diamonds that do not destroy you and fly around by pressing the arrow keys.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Ohh, artsy. And moody. And a wee bit creepy :P

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Gosh, I love the vibe of this game. Graphics, music and sounds create a really interesting mood where it's already fun to fly around and watch the Sorrowbeast.

I am rather confused what to do though. I wait a long time (Longer than 10 seconds, right? Where does the theme come in?), then the beast cries, I catch its tears and wait again. Is there anything I am supposed to do instead of waiting? Is there a score? Does it get harder over time?

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Real creepy, but beautiful art and animation!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:09am

Stunning visuals!

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Awesome graphics and audio make it feel dark and moody, very cool idea.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:23am

Controls were a bit odd, but man is that art good.

Really sets a great mood.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

So dark and mysterious. I cant even express how much I love this!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]