August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cyber Sh*tty 10Secs

by lazyeels - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a convict with a long long sentence, but the good news is you that can work it off by completing a series of assassinations on behalf of the police (anyone remember Cyber City OEDO?).

You're on a tight leash, so you have to do it in 10 secs or they'll take your head off with their explosive dog collar (sorry couldn't be more imaginative on this occasion).

My first Jam, and it wasn't as complete as I hoped but a great learning experience and fun to be a part of.

Written in Javascript with Canvas.

Have fun.

Lazyeels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#367Humor2.61
#686Theme3.03
#881Audio1.73
#893Graphics2.32
#917Mood2.22
#944Fun2.43
#1011Innovation2.26
#1011Overall2.54

Comments

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34am

The level is still the same & the gameplay is not very rich. + Once you discover your victim for the first time, you can shoot the other ones through walls :)

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

I completed it - but I did cheat by shooting through the walls as soon as the game started to where the victim was (I didn't even see the victim even once).

I am a dirty cheat :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Thanks for your feedback guys. You're right, i kind of got distracted by sakura particle part rather than concentrating on the main mechanic.

When judging is done i'll polish it up.

By the way, one thing i got stuck on was how to scroll the camera properly, especially the y-axis. Does anyone know where i went wrong? The bit of code is in the update method of the world.js file. I wanted to keep the character centered o the y-axis.

Thanks again for feedback, really appreciated.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10pm

OK, so I just wrote a some spawner code and now the bad guys are randomly placed each go, and sorted out the shooting through walls bit, thought it was going to be harder than it was, and just wanted to flesh out the rest of the game with title screen and info etc.

I'm guessing you can't upload changes any more right? It's not polished enough for the 72 hour Jam, though. Something to learn for next time. ;-)

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Nice first entry so far. Nice to see fun platformer. I understand you didnt have time to complete it because I didnt add sounds to my game because of it :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I like the mobster tone of the instructions :D I too found the ability to shoot through the walls make the game easy for me :D

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Yeah, is it too late to call the shooting through walls bit a feature? ;-)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Really good attempt for your first jam. The through the walls thing I found by accident but it did spoil it a little bit. Fix that and it'll be a really good little game - the controls are good and it'd be good if you sort of hid the enemy and made it a bit more maze like so you're desperately trying to seek him out before the time runs out!

OneL3gend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Gameplay isn't very changing and the floor sometimes let the player fall through it. Ptherwise a good idea.

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

YEAHHH I'm free. Nice first game. The collision detection isnt prefect, but collision detection is a tricky bi***

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I kind of keep falling out of the level.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

This game has good concept, maybe you could let different target have different behaviors. Also the collision detection isn't perfect especially with high speeds. Good work though :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

LOVE DAT CYBER SHIT

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Thanks guys, I hope the final version will have more AI in there and some mobs to help protect the bad guy. Also want to add glass so you can jump through windows and stuff. And some new levels. ;-)

Anybody got any tips for collision detection with platformers? That was my biggest issue and time killer.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Somewhat liked the graphics, but hard to understand what to do.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Collision detection was a bit off most of the time. But the idea was good, with more time and polish this could be pretty good. Good for a first attempt at a game jam, so congrats

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I don't know why but it seems to be a little addictive for me... :) Nice game!

Delca says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

A nice little game! Two or three other levels could help it become more diversified, but the concept is fun as it is now.
There is still some collision issues (I know how much of a pain it can be, I spent almost half my coding time getting mine right), but it dose not break the whole game, which is rather forgiving considering the intro.
Will you do a post-compo version ?

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02pm

I hope to polish it off when the comp is over, would be nice to take this prototype as far as it can go, rather than becoming another unfinished piece in my Gamedev folder).

Thanks for your feedback!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Could use some polish. :) Learning is the best part of the jam and I hope you keep at it! Congratulations on your first entry for the LD :)

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Good game. Pretty hard though. Wasn't able to beat it if you are able to beat it.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Simple characters are neat :) I would like to see progressive difficulty instead of random placing the guys. But I know we are time constricted in LD48, the same happened to my own game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]