August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Voice

by Charlie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a paranormal investigator interested in Electronic Voice Phenomen (EVP).
Using the Frequency Analysis 3000 your mission is to find high frequencies.
To do this, listen carefully and check out the audio visualiser (maybe show frequencies beyond human hearing range!).
Then you can record 10 seconds that you want so the machine starts searching high frequencies in those seconds recorded.

Controls:
Arrow Left/Arrow Right: Short jump (10 seconds)
Space: Start recording (only 10 seconds!)
Z: Restart audio
X: Resume / Pause audio

Result codes:
200: Waiting for data
302: Found
404: Not found

Music by ERH from freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation4.22
#118Audio3.41
#233Mood3.21
#666Theme3.06
#819Humor1.80
#899Overall2.69
#916Graphics2.27
#1075Fun2.13
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

Thats a crazy good idea! I wish it had a little bit more gameplay to it.

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I like the general concept of this game a lot!

However, I believe using full tracks from Freesound constitutes breaking the 48-hour rules... :|

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Very innovative, really cool idea and well put together. Good job.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Ooh.. Strange idea, is it really a game ? Or a experiment ? ;)
Audio is really impressive.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Yeah, this really should have been submitted to the jam if it was going to break the no pre-made assets rule

galman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Really innovative idea!

kratorspore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Not much of a game here but an interesting concept that could be explored further.

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Nice idea, very clever, I was expecting to hear the dev screaming subtly in the background ^_^

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

great man,,,, schizoid,,,

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

Like the idea. Have no idea how the players would actually guess where a frequency they could not hear is.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I didn't manage to get a 302 even when I recorded every 10-second segment.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]