August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MatchiMatchi

by Jesper Oskarsson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made a match-3 game! weeeeee!

PLAY IT ON YOUR ANDROID! DO IT!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#463Graphics3.04
#805Audio2.02
#863Fun2.54
#938Humor1.48
#941Mood2.17
#1027Overall2.50
#1187Theme1.40
#1195Innovation1.48

Comments

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Quite a fun, well made game! Wasn't sure how it related to the 10 seconds theme though (Though maybe I just missed it)

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

A nice little match three game, but nothing to do with the theme...

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Well, I've seen a ton of games with this bejewejed-like mechanic, but I like that way you wrap it up - the graphics look good. And the mechanic is popular because it's fun, so good stuff!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Thanks! :) The theme is there in the form of an arbitrary limit of 10 second combos.

I just wanted to make something polished. :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Quite a simple little bejeweled clone. Still it need some way to place the blocks so it doesn't give instantly tons of combos. Makes it a bit too easy :P

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Was ok but quite off theme - great sound effects though :)

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38am

Graphics are pretty but sounds are slighty acute

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

I really like the panning textures and graphic design. Fun to match 3 but the sounds of scoring hurt my lil ears. Keep up the great game making.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22am

Too much jingling when the points increase!
I found out the 10 seconds after awhile, but I don't get why I lose when the chain reactions last more than 10 seconds.
I'll cut some slack of copying Bejeweled because you have added one element that removes any matching presents surrounding the 3-matched presents.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

Achieving a combo of 10 seconds is all pure chance. The game needs visual clues to know what cubes will appear the next time and play accordingly.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nice art style~well,it looks we made games using same mechanic~keep moving~

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice colorful game. I like it, reminds me Candy Crush style ;)

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Not quite sure how the 10 seconds theme relates? I saw a 10 second timer at some point on the left, but I'm not sure why or how it came up. Otherwise, it is a fully functional match-3 game!

Neil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Quite a nice match-3 game, but did not really fit the theme. The sound made my cat jump!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

"it is bejoold" - gust4v1337h4x

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Thanks all! :)

@Xgor: Yeah, probably need to increase the number of cube types to make that less likely.

@eskivor, Richard Matey, jprogman: Duly noted. Wasn't sure if it was too much or not. Thanks!

@REIN1: *high five*

@Neil: Tell your cat I'm sorry. :/

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43am

Fun puzzler!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:34am

You set out to make a polished game, and I think you succeeded! It play very nice on a touchscreen device. Smooth animations and nice patterns. Some of the colour schemes might have a little too stark a contrast though.
The game makes me want to open wrapped presents. Nice work! :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

Solid match-3 game. I played the web version so did not get the touch screen effect, but it was still enjoyable with the mouse. Well done.

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

This is the best looking match 3 I have ever seen.

Bernhard says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Felt very polished and well done!
Didn't really get the count down/timer that appeared some times but the pretty colors kept me playing for quite a while :-)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:51am

Oh my god that sound. I didn't see the theme. Nice 3 matching game but that sound effects is piercing. Definitely not my favorite part.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Well done game, but I never found how it related to the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]