August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Per Meter

by antonijn - Jam Entry

In this game it takes you 10 seconds to travel one meter. Do note that this isn't 10 base 10 seconds per meter though...

A collaborative effort between antonijn, Pixel_Pants and Glymir.

EDIT: Ok, people don't seem to be too satisfied with the game, let me explain myself. First off, kudos to Pixel_Pants and Glymir, they truly did do a fantastic job, the programming however, not so great. I was kind of still recovering from 7DFPS and was very unproductive throughout the weekend. Making this my first entry in Java (I suppose my unfamiliarity with java causes the lag and sound stutter), didn't help a lot. Please don't judge me on the basis of this game alone :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#284Humor(Jam)2.43
#335Audio(Jam)2.67
#375Graphics(Jam)2.94
#471Fun(Jam)2.45
#475Mood(Jam)2.36
#512Innovation(Jam)2.35
#517Overall(Jam)2.56
#520Theme(Jam)2.52

Comments

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Hey, I watched antonijn making this game on his stream. It was really interesting to watch and I learned alot. The game is fun to play and there are some situations that are hard to beat but it's possible :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I like the gameplay and the acceleration based on time elapsed. Nice work!

Glymir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

I like how I made the music!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:28am

Sometimes it's hard to see the trashcans when they are in front on the buildings, I didn't really quite get when I could buy something and when I could not. With some more content the game would be more fun I think.

Anton_D says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Sometimes when you spawn, you instantly die because there is a trash can where you fall down. Other then that, nice game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I liked the graphics. The sound kept freezing and was really choppy. The gameplay was really bad. I just kept being dropped on trash cans, the collision detection meant I would sometimes hit a trash can if I was really far away. My computer started making a weird noise while playing this. I checked the cpu meter and it was at 100 percent! Sorry I couldn't be more positive.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I do like the concept and presentation (especially the blood effect - may sound creepy but I think it's kind of cute), but the gameplay was extremely laggy, just as the music, which often resulted in death situations I couldn't possibly avoid (game freezes, a second later it continues and I'm dead no matter what keys I press). Which is sad, because it certainly has some potential and I see how it would be very fun if it ran a little better.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:44pm

It was incredibly choppy to the point where it was almost unplayable. You might want to see if there's something hogging a bunch of resources here...

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:59pm

My computer says that the jar file is corrupt when I try to run it :S

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Ignore the last comment. Managed to get it working.

The game is really nasty on the ears, it cuts in and out all the time. I didn't see the goal of the game itself and it was strange in its physics some of the time. If you go fast enough you can leave the screen.

I did however like the graphics, except for the font which was kinda unreadable.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Looks good and sounds good, but unfortunately I really didn't get how to play despite the explainations (using the shop / inventory ? what's the actual goal of the game ? what are those numbers going down ?). Also, the shop animation is too slow IMO. Keep it up :)

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice game, pretty challenging. The jump stopping was great help. And in my last play, I've found a bug. You can go off the screen on the right, just stand there and nothing happens.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Nice entry. I like your use of the theme ( seems familiar ;) ).

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

The use of the theme is strange and the character is a bit hard to control, but it's fun to play, the shop adds a lot to the game too. Great job! :)

autlos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I liked the idea. Perhaps more elements would make it even better.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Functionality aside (I can certainly relate to the fatigue factor), this was a pretty interesting concept. I would love to see this expanded-upon in the future.

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

how did you implement the 10 seconds ? i don't understand music and graphics are good i don't really like the gameplay and when you die your blood jumps around and is there an FPS counter ? if there is it is no good i get like 1000 and the 10
i think you could do better and also you were in a team i dont't know how to say but you.use.java = false; :/

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

how did you implement the 10 seconds ? i don't understand music and graphics are good i don't really like the gameplay and when you die your blood jumps around and is there an FPS counter ? if there is it is no good i get like 1000 and the 10
i think you could do better and also you were in a team i don't know how to say but you.use.java = false; :/

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Graphics were pretty good, and despite the gittery animation/music it still was kinda fun!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

It's not bad, don't be too rough on yourself :]
It was really funny seeing the robot get knocked back 10 paces by a trash can, or how touching an airplane makes it explode, and funny is good.
I laughed so hard when the robot spawned and fell right onto a trash can.
Awesome work!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Well, next time try to distribute your game with music in lossy format. That will not just reduce size of your game dramatically but maybe solve your audio lagging problem (just my guess) and so on.. :-)

Vaughn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Interesting game. The inventory/shop thing seems a bit overly complex maybe. I was able to get to 0.08 after several tries and trying out the items. The theme is stretched a bit here... as others have commented. Good work!

Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I was wondering why the slow animated menus? um, the setup works , maybe i was missing somethings i don't know. The music and sounds work for this game i think, i hit a few trash cans and super jumped over some lakes. niiice! :D i felt like a flying robot. the text when you die saying why is a robot bleeding was funny. :D

Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:29pm

The animation is slow, but I dunno. I like the music. \ Sadly the game wouldnt record so I could not include it in my LD 27 compilation video series.

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

nice concept! )
but game is buggy though

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Took me some times to understand the game. Latter phase is exciting as it's faster!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]