August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The King's spin

by Mironix - Jam Entry

You are a prisoner of the evil king, thrown to the dungeons with many goblins. You find a friend. But as you know friends come and go. You are left alone live 10s from the thriving hordes of goblins. If you live you do an outstanding athleatic combo straight to the kings chair, kill the evil king and marry his splendid daughter.

Long Live The new king!


Gallery: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/polishrad-post-dare-gallery/
by PolishRAD

Post ludum dare statement http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/polishrad-post-ludum-dare-statement-by-mironix/

Post LD fixes: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/polishrad-post-ludum-dare-bugfixes-for-the-kings-spin/

Outside the team:

Crossbow creator: http://www.blendswap.com/user/LiNk2.0

Male: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/3174

Swords: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/4794

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#227Humor(Jam)2.70
#274Audio(Jam)2.89
#294Graphics(Jam)3.26
#523Mood(Jam)2.12
#559Theme(Jam)2.25
#567Innovation(Jam)2.15
#571Fun(Jam)2.06
#587Overall(Jam)2.27

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

The mac version is not working D: (mountain lion)

Mironix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:56pm

sorry for that, we'll throw it out, did not have a mac tester at this Dare :)

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44am

Very nice graphics. Looks really cool, however I died all the time, could not jump up the stairs?

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44am

Looking forward to the changes after LD =D

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

No you cannot jump, but when a goblin touches you - game over - try to run out from them for 10s, i know it's not easy - it'll get worse. The winning statement works :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23am

Incomming weekend will bring new things, i'll post a post ludumdare upload here and there.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Loved the voiceover, but did not really "get it" ? I ran around for quite a long time, but nothing happened, only more goblins :D

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54pm

check back after the weekend - the idea outgrown ludum dare. This is just a sneak peak of what's comming. Basically here you just need to run away from goblins for 10s.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Ah that explains it! Okay :)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31pm

very nice graphics and sound, hard game tho

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Excellent idea, very creative! Cool graphics! Keep at it and good job! :)

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice Game! Awesome graphics! I like it!

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Welp, there certainly was some nice lightmapping :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I'm dead agter a few secounds ... playing it on laptop without mouse :( But I like the style of the characters ;)

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

unfortunately you need mouse, later on we'll add controller support, it was buggy before the release so we decided to not include it. you were touched by a goblin.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:00pm

All the positive feedback is just fantastic. Thank you.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Update 0.1 Alpha available

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Hi ! I don't know if its normal, but I was not able to shoot or attack with the sword. Also, right after jumping, the character animation get stuck in a crouch position for a few seconds(I'm still able to move) and then get back to normal.

It's a very interesting concept, love the jokes ;) I hope you will continue this!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:28pm

the entire team is still working :) today i've posted small fixes, read the post there's a link

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Didn't understand how to shoot enemies. But looks great! Well done.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16pm

ummmm -- cant shoot, cant jump -- what can i do?

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

Not even really a game right now, you just run. I liked the audio and graphics though, next ludum dare focus more on gameplay than modeling ;)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

This one has the potential to be a lot of fun, looking forward to the updates!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/polishrad-post-ludum-dare-bugfixes-for-the-kings-spin/

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

very fun :D

aldian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Very very nice graphics. Quite fun little game (: congrats

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

good job

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Frankly could barely play it... what was supposed to be going on?

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

@Venturelli contact me on skype: mironix.gaming i would love to know more about how the game ran for you :) The target is run away from goblins for 10s, later on i release a version where you kill them.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

also as a side note i'm in the middle of doing a intro video

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Please try to think that not everyone uses a qwerty keyboard...

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

too early stage to think about that dear @H-Bomb - but i'll note it and try to add key mappings thru the weekend.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:22am

Cool-looking graphics. The Compo version is pretty buggy and your only choice is whether you stay there and accept immediate death or you run in circles around the map and accept your death later.

The Post Compo version is pretty much the same (but now I can jump) but rewards me with a "You win" if I go with the second plan and survive a few secs.

The idea looks good though and as I said before the graphics are actually quite good. I'd love to see this game finished and polished!

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

@ConflictiveLabs very good constructive critic, this is a rare thing those days - we will do our best to fulfill Your expectations.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Controls of the character were very sluggish and the assets from Unity weren't properly bound to the skeleton. My character got stuck in a crouch and couldn't move. :( Did kinda wonder if you even need them?

The UI/HUD didn't fit the game style at all, which is a shame as the intro screen was nice, had some great colour theming.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

@Almax27 still crunching the nummbers on that. Character is a placeholder for a character that didn't get done during the ludum dare. ui/hud will fit the style when we're finished with the product.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

@Almax27 thank you for checking us out and beeing constructive in your critic.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Damn goblins! Too many! Too fast! Cool entry. Loved the voice over. The controls were a little weird though.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:54am

I think next time you do a Jam, you should put your clearly capable 2D artist to better use than making a menu. Avoid a massive scope super kickass 3D game next time, and focus on getting fun, polished game play in the 72 hours.

Mironix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:03am

Thank you for the concern @Broxxar but we'll make what we'll feel like doing :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:08am

That's what's PolishRAD is about - listening to the teams voice.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:54am

I don't mean to be mean when I say this.

I actually had fun running around picking out the problems with the game. Every game has problems, it's fun to see the stage in which everything is still being worked out. It reminds me of testing my own projects.

I really liked the voice over work. Keeping going with it i'm interested to see what the next builds are like.

Mironix says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

Today or early tomorrow there will be 0.2 Alpha, more voice overs, a tad better movement, web player and the most important - the goblins die!

Mironix says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:11am

The King's Sping Version 0.2 Alpha avaliable: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/polishrad-post-ludum-dare-bugfixes-for-the-kings-spin/

Antidote says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I really like the goblin graphics... But couldn't really play, very confusing without the animation/sound feedbacks for the shooting

Mironix says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:09pm

What's Your system @Antidote, there is a sound feedback for shooting in version 0.2 Alpha.

vladimirdlc says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:36pm

There are some problems with the colliders and gravity. As the player carries weapons, I assumed the player could fight; as it's not the case, I would suggest removing that from the avatar.
Gameplay is a little confusing, but not so hard I think, maybe and brief indication at the beggining would have helped.
Voice over was interesting, and art was ok, the overall style make this somehow enjoyable in a totally funny way.

Sestren says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:45am

The models look really nice, and the voice-over is pretty cool. The controls felt a little sluggish, though.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Really cool idea, I like the fixes that you're putting into the post-compo version. Definitely looking forward to seeing how this evolves over time.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:39pm

really weird and funny, interesting story too

Mironix says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 10:18am

Thank you guys for the top 600! more updates on this game soon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]