August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Timber!

by keppinakki - Jam Entry

In 10 Second Timber you try to chop down as many trees as possible within the 10 second time limit. Try to hit space bar when the target bar is green!

I didn't make it to the compo as I started this project too late :( Anyways, it's done now.

EDIT: Post-Jam version added.
*Better textures
*Better everything
*Still lacks sounds and music :(

Tools used:
Adobe Flash Professional CS6 (ActionScript 3)
Adobe Photoshop CS6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Fun(Jam)3.16
#411Graphics(Jam)2.84
#425Theme(Jam)2.82
#426Overall(Jam)2.79
#466Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Wow that was really fun!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The art style is great; I like the colors. The mechanic of speeding up the meter as you progressed gave the game an appropriate amount of difficulty.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36am

Hahaha funny game, nice idea :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Games that let me use axes make me happy. I was disappointed that I had to stare at the very top of the screen the whole time and couldn't see the tree massacre in action.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Pretty nice work! I wish there was sound, but oh well. The art is very nice, and it matched the theme perfectly. I think it is kind of silly that if you just spam spacebar, you get a higher score than when you actually try and time it perfectly. (I had three as my best when timing it almost perfectly every shot, and I had 5 when I just spammed.) I know you are trying to fit to the theme, but maybe if instead of using 10 seconds as an actually time limit, have one second = one chop. This means you COULD (not will) get 10 score.

Anyway, good work! Keep it up!

gamepopper says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very fun game! =D

keppinakki says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

MrBlade, yeah you are very right. I just ran out of time so I couldn't fine-tune the difficulty or make music and sounds.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

the good old liberjack .... good good good game well done dude

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Fun little app. could use sounds that make it vicerely rewarding when you cut a tree.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:27am

Cute graphics, nice job! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Nice ax :) ! A little more features would be great. Also, it's difficult to look at the lumberjack (and see if the trunks are well cut) while trying to make a good score.

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:49am

High score of 13.

This game is fantastic. Besides the font choices, I loved the visuals. I played a couple rounds not focusing on the chopping bar, because I wanted to watch myself chop. I wish that the chopping bar were closer to the visual action. It's one of the only flaws in this game. Excellent work.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Pretty nice timbering - I mean programming

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]