August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

575

by the31 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For my LD game
I decided on haiku
made in ten seconds.

Look inside to find
controls (even easy mode)
and the game itself.

This game was written
in AS3's native libs.
Thank you for your votes!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#24Innovation4.08
#295Humor2.74
#378Theme3.35
#585Mood2.69
#769Graphics2.55
#820Overall2.78
#1019Fun2.28

Comments

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

The look and feel of this is quite polished. I especially like how the words push each other aside.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Brilliant concept, beautifully executed. That said, ten seconds is just no way long enough to count the syllables in long words and form a Haiku. I did see you had a second version, but then that breaks the theme.

Bit of a pickle
Make your game *good* or *correct*?
A real conundrum

31eee384 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

Thanks! I tried to add
lines that show the syllables
Too dark I suppose

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Interesting game.
Had a bit of trouble making the words stick to the text-bars.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

It's the first poetry game I ever saw. Cool concept!

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very hard, not a lot of fun but a great concept.

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very good.
A little fast for non-English player.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Cool idea, clean presentation but it's really too hard!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

This is a cool game that I will never win.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Never would have thought of a haiku challenge. Interesting idea.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

noxiously snouted
consecutives protectors
caddie matronhood

I think the silliness of this haiku is very descriptive of how short and sweet this game is. Pretty font! :)

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Nicely done, I was struggling to manage in the time until I saw the boxes were sub-divided into the number of syllables the word has!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

The text is a bit hard to read, and the game is surprisingly difficult.

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Really interesting idea. I think it might have been better to use a different font, as that one is kind of hard to read.

I'm not sure whether I like the way the number of syllables in a word is shown, as that removes any real thinking from the game, but that said there would be absolutely no way anyone could actually count the number of syllables within just 10 seconds.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Great execution of an interesting idea: shame the idea turns out to be way too hard to pull off in ten seconds (for me at least). Managed to get a haiku once on twenty second mode - don't think I'd ever manage it in ten.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:56am

Not touchpad friendly
But is rather interesting
Hippopotamus

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Very fluid in how everything moves or pushes the other words. This must have been well polished. And a nice idea.

larb says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:30am

Cool idea. 10 seconds is not enough for me. It's really hard and frustrating. (The LD theme is the problem, your game is cool.)

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:08am

Wow, never would have expected a haiku generator. Really appreciated that all of the menu elements were themselves haiku, and that the countdown was a usable element. The game, unfortunately, isn't very fun until you finally do manage to succeed, and that's not an easy feat. "Phenomenology dog" indeed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]