August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Tofu

by zerocreativity1 - Jam Entry

Guide Mr. Tofu through Soybean Land and fight the evil meats

Our Lundum Dare 27 submission, made in 3 days. This is a puzzle/strategy game, guide the tofu around each level in 10 moves or less.

controls:
mouse: to drag moves onto the queue
1-5: choose which move you want. P = Pause. M= Mute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#34Graphics(Jam)4.39
#115Humor(Jam)3.13
#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#191Mood(Jam)3.18
#206Audio(Jam)3.08
#249Overall(Jam)3.20
#318Fun(Jam)2.87
#373Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

nhmllr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Funny concept. Would've never thought of meat vs. tofu.

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Good mood and humor.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

Very interesting. I loved the graphics!

Jeff Melton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

I would never have guessed this was made in a jam. Great job on polish

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

Interesting idea. Love the art. One of the signs on the second level is to high, the text is off the screen. When you click the moves in your queue to change them, it doesn't work unless you click a ton.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

This was pretty fun. The controls were a little awkward, but other than that, I enjoyed it!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

Really interesting game with great graphics and some nice design all round, but I'm having serious trouble with the controls. I can't get the arrows to switch direction in the queue about 90% of the time. Even clicking all over them, they'll rarely change direction at all. I've tried every way I can think of and I just can't get the controls to play along. Bar that one issue, the game looks great though.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

Great graphics and love the concept.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21am

i guess if your having trouble switching direction you can hold down the button and press the arrow key in the direction you want. also holding down the arrow keys when clicking on the item (or hitting the shortkey 1-5) while deploy the item in position you pressed.

Also you have to click them really fast for them to switch direction, if you press and hold, it thinks you are dragging it.

koe415 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55am

Fun, well polished game. The art style is consistently solid throughout. Puzzles were challenging and stayed true to the theme. The later added elements added a nice complexity. Only issue I had with the title was that some pop-up messages, near the edge of the play area, were cut off or outside the screen. Besides that, awesome job.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

love the art good job

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55am

Wow, really polished game :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Really neat concept and great art. The controls were a little hard - the clicking wasn't as responsive as it could be for example - but excellent entry overall :)

Photon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Interesting concept and game to be sure, though I stopped after awhile because of the bugginess (trying to rotate directional arrows, particularly). On top of that, I didn't quite get how the player decides where to shoot the soybean, and some of the help signs display their text off screen. This looks quite good, but it needs some polish to be sure. (And personally, I found the music to be a bit annoying and grating)

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Very unique concept. Excellent execution. Great gameplay, except for the fact (as many have already mentioned) that the directional switching of the tiles was very finnicky. Other than that, fabulous entry. I absolutely loved every second of it.

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Overall a good game! I like the great graphics and audio very much. But it took me some time to get started, because the moves in the queue aren't very responsive to mouse clicks. Sadly the game is over for me after the first level, because the second level is not loading.

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Graphics and audio are very good, that is the sort of game I could expect to see on a mobile store.
That being said, I could not actually play it that much because I coud not get the arrow to turn by clicking on them.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:25am

I love all the details and colors in the art; little things like variations on the rocks, consistency in the UI, etc. Overall a very unified game! Just felt that ten seconds was a little long, especially when the tofu takes one second per step... but you had to stay within the limitations of the theme.

tacoshotgun27 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:32am

couldn't figure out what to do but I liked the graphics --
they were good

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:44am

i really tried but i could not get the moves to change direction -- high marks for artwork -- nice effort

gritfish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Other than the glitchiness of trying to rotate moves, my only other gripe with this game was the lack of some kind of feedback when you successfully finish a level. I started queuing up moves because I thought maybe I needed to get the carrot or something.

Anyway - huge congrats on the polish on the audio/visuals. The game looks great.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Nice graphics and sounds but the controls are extremely bad.

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very cute visuals!

Nice entry!

pythong says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:52pm

seems to be buggy? i had a hard time turning the arrows :/

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Cute atmosphere, but the controls are a bit weird, I had a hard time understand what to do (especially with the arrows you can turn by clicking on them). That's too bad cause everything else is well polished.

drawm says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Overall nice game, graphics and music are super cool and the mechanic is fun and engagin. But I ran some bugs (moves wont rotate in queue, game wont restart, etc). It's seem like it need a bit more polish to be perfect but it's already pretty close :)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very, very cute, graphics, though the controls were odd. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Alink says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very well polished game. For the click problem, I suggest to mention the arrow keys method in the description.

sans_seraph says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:40am

Great theme and mood, really professional art, and great gameplay. My only complaints are some bugs already mentioned (text off the screen, and only short clicks are registered to rotate moves). If you fix the bugs and add a tiny bit more content in this you pretty much have a first rate iOS-app-style game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]