August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stay Alive

by Jools64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update:
I have noticed that it's not very obvious how to get food. In order to get food you must punch the berry bush 3 times and each hit must connect. (Given more time I would have indicated that better).

You are a man that is trying to survive through each day. You need to satisfy your basic needs for food, water and shelter.
Each day is 10 seconds long and in that day you have to complete a task. Fail to complete that task and the game is over.

Ideally this game would have been much longer but ah well. ;) Not too much polish either but I'm still happy with what I got out considering the time I put in. (I only got in a few hours in on day one and then worked all the way through day two.)

Tools used:
FlashDevelop - IDE
FlashPunk - Library
Gimp - Graphics
Ogmo Editor - Map
LMMS (Famisynth VST and Drum samples from Commodore 64) - Music
SFXR - Sound Effects

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#18Overall4.03
#27Fun3.92
#29Audio3.80
#36Graphics4.19
#38Theme3.97
#57Mood3.71
#97Innovation3.76
#122Humor3.31

Comments

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

omigodsoaddicting

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10am

Really fun! Very polished.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13am

I am in awe. You win the stream tonight. 5s all across the board. Super well polished, I literally LOL'd most of the time playing it. The collision detection might need a bit of tweaking but nothing you can't handle. +10 internets.

Misfit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Aarrg.. too addictive! Without small collision problem this would be a perfect game.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Wauw great addictive game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I really enjoyed this!
As said before it's really addictive. I like the idea of a "story", and the graphics are beautiful.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Pretty hardcore :) And very nice visuals and music.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Amazing! I'd love to see more levels c:

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Nice music, great idea, and good graphics. Sadly, I'm the worst player and always reseting to the start menu prevented me from finishing the game. Really fun, though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Love it! When I'll have a little of time... :-) Good idea, really.

Taiters says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28am

Sweet game bro

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43am

this is great,the story,gameplay and graphic
and 10 seconds theme you chose to implement
solid entry

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02am

Hard, but fair

cappelnord says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:12am

This was quite good! I kind of hated it, that you couldn't retry the same level when you die. Also some kind of alarm when one stat was getting low would have been great!

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I love it! All of it! :D

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very cool game, you really did a good job. The graphics and gameplay are well polished and everything looks good. Kept dieing of thirst on the last level though, couldn't get to the water in time D:

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08pm

It's challenging, I finished it after the 8th try.
I know why days are not just 10 seconds now...
Well made, polished, and so !

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

The graphics are really pretty man, I like them.
The concept behind everything is cool, I could imagine a multiplayer coop game with this as the base concept!
Shame it was short! /shake fist at 48h

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Awesome game, congrats! Tasks were simple enough, yet at times I found myself restarting 'cause I'd got distracted and died of thirst, or run out of time.

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Really cool game, music and art is awesome, gameplay is challenging and addictive. Great job!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57pm

this is a lot of fun!i like how when you finish a task early the day doesn't end, so you can look around the area for future tasks. good work.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Fast, silly, and great at making me feel incompetent at simple tasks! It's like Cart Life, Cave Man edition :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Cool idea! Nice use of the theme and overall solid entry.

I would have given the players bit more time to read the top description what their objective is, before making them rush. Causes more deaths than it should. But overall I liked playing this. Great job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Wow, hectic! It took me a couple tries to notice the A/K alternation message, but nice job on a solid execution.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

Really fun! Lots of polish, nice graphics and sound! It's a little hard for my tastes, though, and detracted from the fun.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37am

Awesome game man, definitely make a post-compo version

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:24am

Would love to see where you were going with this!
My first playthrough, I was too focused on completing the objectives at hand, and did not realize I still needed to eat and drink. Whoops!
When making the axe, I missed that I needed tall grass two playthroughs in a row. The introduction mentioned rocks and sticks, and so those are all I looked for! It seems silly in retrospect, but then again with ten seconds I didn't spend a lot of time second-guessing.

td1801 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Awesome ! Graphism are really cool, and gameplay too !

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Lovely survival-game! Nice idea of subdividing the task into mini-missions

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

I couldn't stop until I finished the game. Really addicting!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very impressive game ! Nevertheless, I think it's a bit annoying to restart the game at the beginning when you losing.
Very nice graphics also !

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:39pm

This is probably the most interesting use of the theme I have seen so far. A fast life with no time to think. Nice.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Lovely game, very addicting. Couldn't find anything bad about it, it's certainly one of my favorites. :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Fun game. Interesting take on the theme, and nice pixel art. Nice job!

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Lovely graphics and concept.
Quite fun and engaging!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

First survival game I've found in this LD - and it's a pretty good one on top of it! The tasks were diverse and interesting. I really like the graphics - they have this console feel to them. The music is great too, and the sound effects fit well.

The A/K minigame could've maybe been made with the Left/Right keys. It came very suddenly after I thought I just need the arrow keys and space. And it's pretty harsh to start again from the beginning if you fail. I mean, it kind of makes sense, but it's not fun - especially because the world is the same each time, so it's not like playing again up to this point is a challenge.

And yeah, it's too short, but what's there is really fun. If you do a post-compo version, please tell me! Good job there!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very punishing. Fun, polished, graphics were great. Personally the game was a little too hardcore for me, the fact that I had to start from scratch if I messed up a tiny bit was off-putting, especially as not all of the game mechanics were explained (food/water bars) until after I died. Had a few attempts though and still had plenty of fun. Also liked the little bits of story each day. Quite an amazing feat for the time you had. Good work :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:07am

Also forgot to mention I would have liked to have seen WASD keys as an option! Still, nice work though!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very fun! I watched your video BTW :P

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Loved it. Great game.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:05am

gosh darn this is a fun game.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:57am

Really good game. Perhaps a "second chance" in some tasks would help a lot, but it's a REALLY awesome game. I'm speechless. Rock solid entry!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:04am

Great and polished game. Loved the music and the overall frantic gameplay. I wish there was a checkpoint system, it feels really bad having to start from the very beginning. Really really really solid entry otherwise :)

as3boyan says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I don't know it's too hard for me

loxo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice game! I like the graphics and the game concept. But I think it's really hard.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Overall this was fun to play. You kept it interesting by introducing a new task each day, but maintaining a couple of maintenance tasks to manage on top of that. I can see this being expanded into a neat survival type game. The only thing that took away from it a bit was this strange graphical glitch where various layers of the world seemed to jitter as they updated when you moved your character, even the food and water bars.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:09am

Perhaps just a wee bit too difficult. Sudden death on next level start unfun and sudden cause of stat drop.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]