August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Enemy Inbound

by Canobie - Jam Entry

Enemy Inbound is an arcade shooter where a new enemy spawns every 10 seconds. Earn money and spend it on bullet upgrades and health.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#324Fun(Jam)2.85
#420Humor(Jam)1.88
#495Theme(Jam)2.61
#540Overall(Jam)2.52
#543Mood(Jam)1.95
#563Innovation(Jam)2.18
#607Graphics(Jam)1.61

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I played this for a little while, and had some fun with it. I really like the idea itself, but I think it's incredibly challenging, maybe a bit too much. The very first enemy is already shooting in 4 directions and his bullets are pretty fast, I die very easily. Maybe have the first few waves be slower enemies, weaker weapons, and work up to these harder guys? Either way, I do like this arena shooter style game and I think you can do a lot with it. Good job.

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Yup I agree with Drachlen, it gets really hard quite quickly but in the beggining, the space between enemies is very slow.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

Robotron! Getting cash faster would have been nice, but maybe I'm just bad at it. :)

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43am

very slow paced but not bad

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

Fun addictive little game. Really liked the shop system. Probably should stop the user from going off of the screen.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fun game with a few tweaks it will be a really good game. Good job

porglezomp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

SO HARD! I don't understand how to kill an enemy without taking just as much damage as I deal.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Interesting game. I enjoy in game shops.

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Interesting, but starts out really slowly, and then there's suddenly way too many enemies. Gameplay is negating by just holding a key, which just shoots a straight line of bullets, making the game rather easy.

Could have been better, but I do like the basic concept of it!

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Always love a dual-stick shooter.

choqaae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Simple but great game. Try maximizing the window for a cool effect

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Cool. Very simple presentation but it works and it is quite fun to play. Good job!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Well, I don't have much to add. Basically what DaVince, EmptyFlash and choqaae said :)

onzephyr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14am

love this genre of game. nice take on it using the theme. Plays well difficulty ramps up quickly.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24am

I love these types of games. Pretty fun!!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:36pm

simple, yet well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]