August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blanked.

by Marcos Rodrigues - Jam Entry

DUE TO UNFINISHED WORK, GAME ENDS WHEN YOU FIND THE KEY

--------------------------
You blanked out. Ten seconds of your life, lost. There's a body lying on the floor of your office and blood on your clothes. You'd better run, or the night guards will find you. The night is your friend whereas light might get you into trouble.

Blanked is a side scroller where you search for your past, or at least 10 seconds of it, to find out whether or not you're guilty. Either way, you CANNOT be spotted.

--------------------------
Disclaimer: game core mechanics yet to be implemented (use of cellphone, stapler) and HUD will be added soon. We had tons of trouble with the engine we used but it's out now and we also plan to do a Post-mortem of the jam.
--------------------------
Credits:
Design, Concept Art and other fancy stuff: Tamires Para
Math, Coding and Sound picking: Marcos Felipe Rodrigues
Special thanks: Vitor Bittencourt
Music:
Simplex, by Kevin MacLeod - http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?collection=044
SFX:
http://www.freesound.org/people/Paul368/sounds/173479/
http://www.freesound.org/people/xserra/sounds/77944/
http://www.freesound.org/people/synthetic-oz/sounds/162711/
Game Engine:
http://html5quintus.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Mood(Jam)3.36
#173Graphics(Jam)3.70
#182Audio(Jam)3.17
#511Overall(Jam)2.59
#518Innovation(Jam)2.33
#552Fun(Jam)2.14
#587Theme(Jam)1.84
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

It`s our game <3

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

The art is nice and concept was simple but I had no idea what was going on. Also I couldn't find out where was the theme implemented.. still, good effort.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Check out our game at <a href="http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=16988">our game</a>

Caotico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21am

I really liked it, the animation was neat and funny, and I loved the design of the guards. Good one!

woodecker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I found the key, but the game stopped when the police found me.
Great design!

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

The graphics and audio are really nice and set a cool mood. I didn't care for the gameplay, though, and it didn't really play on the theme.

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:15am

Not that fun but pretty.

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:11am

As woodecker I found the key but then was spotted, a couple of times
I loved the graphics, the mood and the music. Nice work ! :)

GagaPete says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:10pm

The graphics and sound are awesome. Best I've seen so far. The gameplay is very simple and uninteresting. The theme is integration only in the story but that was okay. I hoped I'd to go for the room and get a short summary of the events of the 10 seconds.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I really like the style! Animation and music - they're just perfect.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:14am

Definitely one of the prettiest games I've seen this LD - the style is just fantastic and fits perfectly with the theme you went with. Very cool game.

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Great art, animation and music. It creates a perfect mood. Stopping and melding with the shadows really has nice feel to it.
Too bad its short but hey, don't give up just because jam is over. You really have something solid here.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I really hope you continue working on this game. I really ate up the graphics, music, and mood.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:44pm

promising. i like the graphic style.

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:26am

Certainly a nice start. Already intrigued by the story and the graphical style is really nice.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:36am

Very cool art style! Too bad you couldn't finish it.
I just loved the player design with a spatter of blood on the corner of his suit. However, the peculiar-looking giant policemen felt really out of place.. enemies with the same art style as the player would look much better imo.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Big scary cops are scary!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]