August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Life Countdown

by Toms - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as little blue creature which has a lifespan of 10 seconds. So you have to collect orbs in order to survive and to reach the end of theses tunnels full of cells and bacteria.

The game has two modes :
The 'normal mode' where you have to beat 20 randomly generated level with a growing difficulty to reach a final scene. Or the 'endless mode' where you can travel randomly generated levels forever! and do the best score.

Controls :
Arrow keys to move and jump.

Gameplay :
You must collect at least an orb every ten seconds. Their quantity decrease with the levels.
You can collect hearts to increase your life counter.
Avoid spikes, "unidentified orange fluid" and "little red bad guys", they'll kill you without pity.

Resolution :
You can switch to fullscreen and/or edit your resolution in the file "config.yaml"

Timelapse :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ouHqhUQ_34g

Stream replay :
You can watch the stream of the first day here : http://www.twitch.tv/teanan/b/450624867

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#419Audio2.77
#435Overall3.17
#550Fun2.93
#559Mood2.72
#563Graphics2.87
#610Humor2.15
#686Theme3.03
#867Innovation2.53

Comments

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Very fun game, I could totally see this being a mobile app of some kind. The only thing that I thought was weird was that the music was waaay too somber for the cutsey art style. xD

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Nice entry! Music somehow not fits the rest but still very playable :)

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Pretty cool game :) Played for quite a few levels! I think a double-jump would have been helpful personally but nice job.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I had a good time playing it, it's a really fun game

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

It was okay, a bit boring and easy though. The character graphics were cute though :) If you smoothed the camera's movement a bit (so that the camera would be a bit "late"), it could "feel" a bit better.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

I love the cute character and tight controls, but it was too easy for quite a while! Way too much food and way too much hearts. I don't think it needs that many levels - maybe have 7-10 and ramp up difficulty quicker?

FoxFiesta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41pm

The game has potential, the graphics and the generation works well. The only problem is balancing : there is way too much hearts and orbs. So I tried the endless mode to see if I could find a real challenge but I found the same problem.
Next time, pay more attention to balancing, the rest of the game is cool ! :)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Nice finished-looking game, only way too easy, at least in the first 10 levels. There is so much food that there is no point to the time limit, and do I really need 27 lives? At around level 10 the game started slowing down and the sounds started looping and glitching (not sure if it's a bug in the game), so I stopped playing. It would also be nice to have more graphical variety in the levels, even if just different colours.

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I liked the idea but found the game a bit too easy for quite some time. I would have liked if it ramped up the difficulty a bit faster. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Got to level 7, but lost motivation then because the levels seemed a little too long, especially since I had to play each of them like 3-5 times until I finally made it to the end. :D
Fun game nontheless, I really like the character and his way of looking at you and panicking when the time goes down (which was very rarely the case by the way). Also, the small intro demonstrating the basic time-mechanic was great. The "show, don't tell" paradigm in action. Good work. :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:56am

Nice solid gameplay! Good job!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:36pm

The first couple of levels had power-ups everywhere which made the time limit seem unimportant

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

A fun collection based game.

jprogman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:38am

I wish this game has more content as it got tedious after level 10. Otherwise, you got yourself a good platform engine and nice level generation. It just needs more stuff.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

This is a very fun game. Good sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]