Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Frame - x70x - Jam Entry

UPDATE: I have added a new version of Time Frame that should NOT be used for voting and judging. I just wanted to make an updated version with some improvements based on some feedback. The Post-Compo link above will take you to the new web player where there are also links to download for Windows, Mac, Linux, and Rift. Enjoy!

The concept with Time Frame was to take a period of 10 seconds and stretch it out over 10 minutes. You move at normal speed while everything around you seems frozen in time. By the end of 10 minutes you will experience something that could never be appreciated in only 10 seconds.

I had plans to add more things moving in slow motion like birds flying and leaves falling from trees, but I just didn't have time before the jam deadline. I might update this in the future.

Programming, design, and art by Tyler Owen
Music by Clark Aboud
Additional art by Alex Senechal

View x70x's journal. | View all entries by x70x

Ratings

Coolness69%
#18Mood(Jam)4.06
#23Audio(Jam)3.91
#26Graphics(Jam)4.48
#144Overall(Jam)3.45
#305Theme(Jam)3.04
#315Innovation(Jam)2.93
#486Humor(Jam)1.48
#537Fun(Jam)2.22

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

Very pretty

mr_tag says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39am

very nice! i like atmospheric 'games' like this. reminded me a little bit of Journey :)

the music is also very nice, especially at the end! i wouldn't have minded it looping to fill the whole playtime, though :) did you make it yourself in the jam time?

minor critique: you have to do a lot of (slow) walking till you get to the cool areas...

x70x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

@mr_tag Yeah, I really wanted to fill the large environment with more slow-motion scenery, but we ran out of time. And yes, the music was all created in the 72 hours by my composer friend Clark Aboud. He is working with me on the soundtrack for my game Lacuna Passage as well.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Mind + C4 + this game = MIND NUKE. nice job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Superb, the character is for me a little bit too slow. The art is wonderful !

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

This game is gorgeous in every way. I enjoyed every second of my ten minutes just walking around looking at the environment and the buildings. And the ending was very well done. I sat staring at the whiteness for about a minute just thinking things over. This game is extraordinarily good for a 72 hour game :)

Probably the long delay between tracks was my only gripe with this, because it does add a lot to the exploration when the (beautiful) music is playing.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

The music is great and helps a lot in setting the mood. Good work.

x70x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Working on an Oculus Rift build right now :)

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

BEAUTIFUL!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:00am

Usually I'm not a fan of "explorative" gameplay, but your game has a really beautiful and attracting atmosphere, and I wasn't expecting this end, which make the concept even more interesting. Nice work!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07am

Very atmospheric=)
Like sounds, it's awesome!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16am

Thank you for giving me 10 touching minutes, not 10 seconds instead. The terrain is rendered perfectly, nice terrain engine! Also the sunlight shading, god ray and flare is cool! Nice work :)

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

fantastically beautiful.

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Well done! :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

pretty as hell, like the idea and usage of theme too..

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I don't know what I was doing wrong, but the game would let me strafe left and right but not move forward and backward.

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Audio and visuals are awesome. I love the mood while playing. I couldn't feel the time passing by at all. I traveled to the big tower and walked around creating sunsets. It was great. I wish i had Oculus to try it out on this game.

Larzan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

But... but......... ... there was so much more to see, why now? Just a few seconds more, ... please, i don't want to ... die?

Gorgeous game, love the idea, the design, the music, great, my absolute favourite!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Beautiful!

Larzan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Played it again, still too soon :)

TheCze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Played this on my Rift, excellent game, great mood and atmosphere.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very good setting... I wanted to see the tower far away... but there are strange structures in south... what to explore first... Very good. I love it

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Nice work on the graphics and audio. There was way too much walking in the middle on nowhere at the beginning though. Good non-game!

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Literally, properly 'awesome'. I don't think I saw everything, and will play it again. I was a bit bored with the start. The most prominent things to walk towards - those high spire towers - seemed climbable from a distance, promising much, but just misleading. That felt like too much walking, but maybe was my own fault. The last few minutes more than made up for it. The theme link seemed a bit tenuous, but the timespan/slow idea is extremely co

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very expansive game. This game has a very unique, dreamlike quality, aided by great visuals, an awesome soundtrack, and a lack of any directions or story hints.

I would think about either compressing the landscape or making traversal quicker as I completely missed the city on my first playthrough until I read some of the comments.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:19am

great soundtrack. the visuals are a bit dull. not much else in there.

hoqjed says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Gorgeous game! It's pretty visually impressive and I liked the direction of taking a slower paced approach to the theme. The game lacks in having a point to explore the world though. There wasn't anything exciting enough near the start in the world that would make me want to venture to a further point. I understand the time constraints though, and you really made something pretty impressive for the jam. Great job overall on the visuals and atmosphere, the interaction lacks some, but aside from that it's a fantastic experience.

zzForrest says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:04am

Incredible game. The music was a little too short which made the majority of the game silent. Other than that it was just beautiful. I loved the effects on the sun, although if the sun image was smaller it would look nicer. I ended up spending the first 7 minutes running around aimlessly until I discovered a town. As I saw the town, I looked over to discover an object in the air. I ran towards it, and realized what it was. For some reason, I stood there as it flew towards me. I tried going back to the village, but it was pointless. It struck anyway. Beautiful game. Absolutely beautiful. It had a true sense of discovery about it which made it whimsical yet dark, almost like majora's mask. Your game that you made in 3 days, just got compared to majora's mask. Be proud.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:41am

very well done

Jedi says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:23am

Beautiful!

I pretty much agree with everything that's been said, so I'll just add what I haven't seen any other comments about:

As I said in my comment to your postmortem, I love your take on the theme! Too bad you couldn't do more to show that time was slowed down during the jam. I know well what that feels like ;)

I would like to be able to jump. I understand that I don't need to jump for the story of the game but it would give me something to do while I walk around the huge world. Also, the first time I played (the post-compo) I got stuck in a ravine. Since you were using Unity, I knew you had access to a ready-made first person controller that could jump, and that you probably disabled jumping. At first I thought that was weird but then I thought it was really annoying when I got stuck.

Buuuuuut I just realized two things: Your game time is moving at one second per minute of real time so if your player jumped they should really stay in the air for minutes (can't have that!) and your game character is actually moving very, VERY fast in the game world :D

Overall, awesome game!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:03am

Not much of a game, missing the theme, and a bit rough around the edges...

...but stunning. Wow. I love the music and the atmosphere.

FireZenk says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:23am

Nice one, I like the music and the atmosphere that they create :)

x70x says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Just added download links for the updated version on the web player page.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:25am

Great mood and a very interesting take on the theme. I see where you wanted to go with this, but you obviously didn't have time to flesh it out with more detailed moments of things moving slowly to really get the point across. I'll check out the post-compo version because I like where this is going! Great art and audio!

Komradus says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:01am

Absolutely beautiful, would love to see this expanded on. Not enough people do beautiful atmospheric games for the dare.

ratking says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:41am

At first I was really taken aback by the beauty of the atmosphere, colour and of course the music, which captures everything quite well.
I like the approach you did with this concept, but I think it would have worked out even better if there were any moving objects to show that this world works really slow.
And it takes too much slow walking, to reach the more interesting places.
Anyway, gorgeous!

Katamori says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Freakin' MAGNIFICENT! So perfect in every aspects and so atmospheric and has so many feeings that...ehw...God, I can't even explain it!

All-5, that's enough maybe. =)

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I love this type of games and I enjoyed exploring the area. Unfortunately, there are some parts of the buildings and some wholes in the ground where you get totally stuck. Anyway, good work!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Marvelous experience. I suppose it works fine sometimes and others the player is just distracted and misses the point of the game but fortunateley it worked really well for me and I'm so glad I could rate it before the rating period is over because it was a really incredible experience

volpoli says ...
Oct 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

The zip archive for linux doesn't open :(

jfaulken says ...
Aug 6, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Hey x70x! Any chance of getting the source so I could update it for DK2? :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]