August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10-Second Super Hero

by Siegfur - Jam Entry

You build a superhero, then you fight through nine ten-second random choosen missions, then you save the world. The end.
Controls: WASD + mouse
Credits: ValBar, Siegfur.
Tools used: GM 8.0, sfxr, Paint.NET, FamiTracker, Audacity, Junior Icon Studio.
v1.0: General release
v1.1: Fixed some crash and typo bugs
v1.2: Fixed MBat&Metal legs animation bug (latest release)
Soundtrack is available:
https://soundcloud.com/siegfur/sets/10-second-superhero-ost

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Humor(Jam)3.11
#168Fun(Jam)3.24
#169Audio(Jam)3.20
#183Graphics(Jam)3.67
#186Overall(Jam)3.35
#224Theme(Jam)3.25
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#325Innovation(Jam)2.90
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I would love to try this but it won't load, just stuck at the dos thingy :(

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Love the fact that you can customize the look of the character! But I didn't get the chance to buy anything as I didn't know what to do exactly. It might be a bug? Do fix it up as I'd love to play!

I *loved* the various missions! It was very entertaining!

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Good game, but very hard to start. Human Jump and Bug Jump are absolutely useless.

Then, when you get Turtle Jump and Kilo Buster, you don't need anything else to finish the game at all. Too bad that, after winning, I can't even return to buy new stuff and have to restart to see all the parts.

Some weird walking animation is going on with Metal and MBat Legs equipped.

Also you can't shoot the energy weapons from the left edge of the screen - shots disappear.

killmonday, it seems that you've downloaded something wrong, this game isn't supposed to run in DOS window. Try again.

Kotstulle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51am

Pretty impressive! So Many different levels and heroes! Tried it a few times and I got instantly killed by the evil robot :D was fun to play

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:54am

I love the music, the graphics, the all retro feel of it. Your interpretation of the theme is nice, one of the best games I've tested so far! :)
But the 3 seconds to wait before the start of each mission are waaaaaaaaaaay to long :p

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:47am

Really funny presentation and great retro feeling :) Had alot of fun :)

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:13am

I did not like that mission begins far too long. Just a pity that I was not allowed to play again after a victory, because I had not the best upgrades. It would be great to see the development of such a game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Not sure why ... but...cant....stop...playing

echa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Great!

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

Would make a really fun expanded game. For now I only got to buy 2 components before beating it. D: Fun though. :)

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I really like the concept of the game, and the customization options!

I thought it was a little hard at the beggining.

This is a great game and could be a very nice iOS release. Keep working on it!

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:22am

Really neat concept. I would have preferred to have been able to skip the mission intros.

If you're thinking of extending this past the compo, definitely add more variety to the missions. It could use something more (not sure what) than shooting things.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]