August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Dash

by SneManden - Jam Entry

Cheering in the background... That magical beat, playing on repeat in your head. This is it. This is the finals. You are amongst the fastest of the fastests. The top 0.00001%. Can you live up to that? In 10 Second Dash you are THE runner. And you have just one final run left.. Are you the fastest man alive? Will you break The 10 Second Barrier?
10 Second Dash is a naturally fast-paced game that is a perfect time-killer, and a perfect game to compete with your friends in. Take a screenshot of your less-than-10-second-run, and share it with your friends for the ultimate bragging rights!

Credits:
========
- Project management, beta-tester and motivator: Joakim
- Main programmer and graphics: Casper

Music:
- Running music: Blue Metropolis by Mike Rix
- Menu music: Story of a Wounded Heart by J L T

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#299Audio(Jam)2.80
#353Theme(Jam)2.94
#363Humor(Jam)2.14
#366Graphics(Jam)2.98
#400Mood(Jam)2.61
#405Overall(Jam)2.85
#431Fun(Jam)2.56
#569Innovation(Jam)2.14

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

That game is pretty tough! My fingers hurt..

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

This game is hard! Reminds me of the good old C64 days, playing Olympic games with a joystick.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Quite enjoyable. :)

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

100m in 17s that's good right?

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Games of my childhood, revival !
Nice graphics and music.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Haha :) Hard as hell! Can't get below 12.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Woah, and I thought my game was on the tougher side of things, your game takes the biscuit by about 100m!

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

Couldn't get the hang of it, but seeing the comments that probably just me. Nice game, though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

Dig it, it's a lot like a classic sports games - 80's classic. That title screen music surprised me, it was awesome. Do either of you have a soundcloud?

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

Reminds me of Konami's arcade olympics game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Hard to beat! But I've enjoyed the process!)

And again, this damn pixelart can't be rated less then 5 stars)

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Old track and field concept, like it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Really cool !!! Almost broke my keyboard, but is worth it.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

This game is so hard that reminds me "QWOP". I like your idea though :)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Hehe, my poor keyboard :) Nice animations!

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Art is awesome.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I must admit I got involved by the challenge. Enjoyed it.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

You broke my arrows! :-P

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

AWwhhhhhhhhhhh yeah. Old school button mashing games 8)

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08am

We spent 50 minutes playing this game which has slowed our game rating speed significantly.

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice and hardcore!

aglushakov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Very nice game!

My result is 14 seconds. ;)

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

ohhh!! it's to hard for me!! my fingers omg!! Great job, and thanks for your feedback! Cool game!!!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Not really a fan of button mashers myself, but other people are, and the concept is solid, so not bad. Nice animations and good music. I feel like there could have been more indication of how fast you are running when you're in the middle of the track - since all the lines are horizontal there's no point of reference.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Hard game :_ My fingers, poor poor fingers :___ Nice game though I liked it!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

Brings me back to my days of playing NES olympic games. I sucked at them before, and I still do... after multiple tries, I couldnt even come close.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03am

Hey... how come I always come last >:[

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I think I broke my keyboard. Nice job!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:05am

GGGGGGood work!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Nice work! I enjoyed playing it.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Simple nice game. Good job! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:05am

Look's like a japanese game !
Good work

Starspell says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I have no idea how to get faster than a snails pace in this game. I'm not sure whether there's a good steady rhythm in there or whether I need to just go really fast.

I do like the polish on the game though. The loading screen was a nice touch and the graphics and audio is nice as well.

motty says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:51am

QWOP meets Track and Field. At last!

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:05am

Too slow I am.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]