August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1010 Runner

by Obscuremoon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Space to Jump
X to dash

Game:
Pick up the doggies heads to increase your time by 10 seconds and dash through the rocks to continue

1010 Runner is an infinite runner that was creating using:

Unity3D (Game Engine)
Gimp (Artwork... If you can call it that)
Audacity (Music Editing)
autotracker.py (Music Generator)
Life (48 hours of it)
and the font for 1010 Runner came from total FontGeek DTF at http://www.fontspace.com/total-fontgeek-dtf-ltd/kinishinai-nbp#?text=1010%20Runner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#291Humor2.75
#666Audio2.33
#717Fun2.73
#806Graphics2.48
#906Mood2.24
#997Theme2.58
#1042Overall2.48
#1126Innovation1.98

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Giving me a kind of Tim & Eric Awesome Show Great Job vibe with this one.

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

The big stones are really unfair :(

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Good Game :)

skyloko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Quite difficult but games have been lacking that for a while. It was fun played several times trying to beat my best.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

This game is a little bit hard for me.

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Pretty fun, interesting "style" haha. Had a good laugh. Kinda difficult as well which I like :).

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

It looks kinda buggy at times. But other than that, nice job! :)
I really love the character sprite (if you can call it that :P).
I take it's inspired by Bit.Trip Runner? :)

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Reminds me of Robot Unicorn Attack. I'm so bad at that game - and yours as well :D

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

A pretty weak take on the Rainbow Unicorn-style game. The player should be further to the left of the screen instead of squarely in the middle so that you can see the obstacles sooner and react instead of memorize the level layout. The graphics and music are very rough, and the controls don't feel great. The theme could have been implemented more interestingly, but at least it's present. Overall, not very engaging and doesn't bring much of anything new to the table.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Fun but too hard.
A quick amelioration would be to make the space bar trigger the next try as well. Having to take the mouse just to start again makes it less addictive.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Interesting... though the controls didn't feel that responsive being that even the smallest touch of the jump button made him soar haha. But otherwise great art style!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I think if you're gonna make a game really hard, then you have to make it really easy to play again. Using the mouse to hit a play again button then, another button at a different location makes it unnecessarily frustrating.

I thought the sprite was interesting. It kind of looked like a real person, like what they did in the original mortal kombat. I liked the look of the rainbow also.

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Nice :D I wish he had a jump pose

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Nyan man! :D

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Yeah rainbows and puppies. Those are things that I like.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Fun, but it's frustrating to die by hitting a wall when there's another layer of ground below you.

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Doesn't make much sense, but pretty fun! Haha good job.

Tlyn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13am

Pretty fun! Played through a few times, love the look!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I love Robot Unicorn and this has a similar vibe. Fun and I like the music

Puck says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Very cute. I like the idea of taking photos and stitching them together as a sprite for the competition. The gameplay is also quite solid, which is important. Just a couple of things:

It's not immediately apparent that bushes will stop you, which is not a big deal considering the short life cycle of the game, but it's something to consider.

It's also not clear that the black rocks are destructible. I understand now that the cracks are meant to convey this, but they really just look like part of the texture. Adding a large throbbing "X" over the rock would help convey the idea that you have to dash into it.

Keep up the good work. I hope to see you at #28!

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Simple and fun. Good job with the rainbow!

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Very similar to RobotUnicorn Attack yet doesn't add anything new. Also, very difficult.
Nice character sprite though :)

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Yeah, I was going to ask who the sprite was!

I haven't played any of these newfangled "other runners" the kids are talking about up in these comments, but I did enjoy running in this game and I am roughly aware of the rainbows shooting out of one's back as running occurs being a thing.

I'd say 48 hours well spent!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The music is a bit annoying. I've seen some platforms disappear.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Loving the nyan effect xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]