August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Worst Gnome at the Factory

by Crowbeak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the worst gnome at the factory. Everyone likes you -- you're nice enough and you make the BEST explosions. But... well... even THEY think you cause TOO MANY explosions. Before you came along, they didn't think there WAS such a thing.

Good luck not exploding the machine. You'll need it.


Browser compatibility issue: Game usually loads in Firefox, with the special Firefox version, but still hates life. *headdesk*

Known bug: timers can stop working. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#82Humor3.49
#101Audio3.46
#440Mood2.87
#531Fun2.95
#606Innovation2.89
#610Overall3.00
#695Theme3.02
#885Graphics2.34

Comments

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

I don't understand what to do, but i used to play this game for five minutes!

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09am

Awesome ;D I loved the music at the end, and the 'arrrn' sound when something went wrong ;P

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

A bit hard to understand what you're doing but quite fun :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

Hey - something gone wrong... I'm getting an error with promise when the game loads: "4 Uncaught Error: failed in Deferred".

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

Fantastic use of sound effects! Great job! This game might prove to be better if you could make levels. Start out with just one machine, and work your way up to four?

By the by, I fixed the OS X download on my game!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

It wouldn't load, just hung there at around half way. using firefox.

Tundmatu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Really fun game even though i panic when i'm about to fail. Top notch audio as well!

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

I have no idea what was happening, but it was hilarious and I played it for 10 minutes anyway! The audio was brilliant too.

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55am

I love your sound effects. The little dude is pretty funny. I like the gameplay, but it seems like it is impossible to last super long, since once I use of the Fix-It-All there's not really any way to lower my Frims, Pazzles, or Gonks. The gameplay was still fun though, and I enjoyed my time with your game :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51am

Yeah... I didn't have time to balance it properly. I want it to be fairly manageable, but make it so that having a needle in a red zone affects one or both of the other gauges. xD

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I played this like ten times just for the game over jingle :D

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I don't know why I love this game so much, but I do. The first game this LD to make me actually laugh out loud!

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

what a bizarre game. I love it!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46am

^_^ I really appreciate the kind words, folks. I'm glad people have as much fun listening to the sound as I had making it. :3

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28am

Those harmonies are to die for. *snicker*. Hey, the firefox-loading version works for me. Great game: very stressful when everything starts going at the same time. I need a lil' lie down.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2833788

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

Sweet, thanks for the link to the video review ^_^

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:03pm

My gonks be all 'splodin', yo :'-)

Great Ka-Boom!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I was confused on what to do. Liked the sound effects. Overall the game could use some improvement.

larb says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:54am

I think I understand how to play, but it's hard. I'm wondering how far you can go. Funny audio. Nice entry.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:01am

Interesting and simple.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

That was haaaaard. The core gameplay is solid, but it's a bit hard to keep track of what the switches do. Apart from the wall of text at the start, there's no indication what effects they have ingame (or on the game over screen).

Would help a lot if it said +Pazzles under the Frimurderer, etc. Apart from that, great job! :)

Oh, and because of the Game Over jingle, you now owe me a new keyboard. Shouldn't have been drinking water while playing. D;

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Sounds and the music at the end are great!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:34am

@cryovat: Haha, sorry about the keyboard, man. ^_^

Yeah, I know there are some improvements to make in UI understandability. ^_^ Post-jam version is in the works, but I have a bug to squash, too, so I'm refactoring code so I can find the frelling thing.

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Argh... the character's movement speed is so slooooow. Doesn't really make it easy to reach everything in time. Or I just suck at this game^^

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:56am

The game needs balance, but having the character's ability to move from switch to switch be something to take into account was planned ahead of time.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Quite strange game mechanics. Hard to understand what to do. The sounds are quite funny.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:10am

Kaboom!
You exploded!

Oh so true...

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:59am

The game was very hectic, trying to keep me pazzles and gonks from overloading. I gerked them many a time to keep them under control. But unfortunately, I exploded (according to the song, which is always true). Very innovative and I liked the sound effects. Good gerk!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]