August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Bomb

by rephus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Short description:
A big wave of 10 seconds time bombs are going to kill that cute rabbit, you must save him.

Story:
Lollipop is a small happy rabbit who lives in a field with his family. Suddenly, a war started in the area and two different opponents are fighting each other with timer bombs (or explosive pineapples) and it becomes harder and harder.
Unfortunately, Lollipop's family died in the war, now he must survive to revenge his family (maybe some day he will kill the responsible of this war, who knows).

Features:
The main player is a cute rabbit.
Multiple SCOREBOARDS !!!!!
Multiple game modes (10 seconds wave or continuous)
Options menu (Try the explosive pineapples!)
Music

How to run:
java -jar timebomb.jar

All versions are available here: https://bitbucket.org/rephus/timebomb/downloads

If you have a small screen resolution you can resize the screen, the aspect ratio is made for phones.

How to play:
Click at any place of the screen to guide Lollipop (the rabbit).
Stay away from the bombs.
Stay away from the borders of the screen (a bomb could suddenly appear).

Credits:
Developed using LibGdx,
Most of the graphics are handmade using Gimp (bomb and pineapple sprite donwloaded from Openclipart)
Sounds made with CFXR.
The music has been generated with autotracker.

Update:
I have just uploaded a web version, available here: http://www.coconauts.net/timebomb/

If you hit the scoreBoard, leave a comment

Have fun =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#306Humor2.71
#353Theme3.37
#408Audio2.79
#466Fun3.03
#584Overall3.03
#587Innovation2.91
#664Graphics2.71
#686Mood2.56

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54am

Cute game, I like the sprite of the rabbit :) The main menu seem a little buggy on my laptop. When I clicked on the text, nothing happened, but if I click a little under the text, the game started

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

Thanks. About the main menu, that happened to me in Mac and I fix it moving or resizing the screen. It didn't happen when I was using a smaller resolution, so I think I should change it again.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30am

The game crashes on startup with my mac. :/

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

@Zuige seriously ? I developed the game in Mac and it is wokirng fine. What error did you get ?

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Nice work! Cute graphics and more polish than usual for games of this type. Works fine for me.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Me too, on MacOSX 10.8.4.

$ java -jar timebomb.jar
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
_NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit
AL lib: ReleaseALC: 1 device not closed


For information :
$java -showversion
java version "1.7.0_09"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_09-b05)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.5-b02, mixed mode)

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Thanks @neekobus, but it's the first time I see that error. Are you able to run other libgdx games ? Acording to stackoverflow the problem is in the jre version : http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13571726/cant-load-libgdx-desktop-app-on-mac-osx
I am trying to upload a web version now.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Good news everyone, if you have problems with your jre version but still want to test the game, I have just uploaded a web version here: http://www.coconauts.net/timebomb/

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I got on the scoreboard! ... just!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Woha, the bunny is adorable!
Nice idea, i lost most of the times because i hit a bomb with my poor bunny..

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Cool game. Difficulty seem to be well adjusted, it's nice. I would like more bomb types !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

That was fun! Good job :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Neat little game. Gets a bit boring after a while though.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:16am

Nice game.. I'd personally like it a bit faster, but well done!!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Started easy.. then.. woah. Cute graphics, cute idea

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Simple but very effective ... I like it.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very fun game. However, there were two things that could be better.

1. The game screen was excessively tall. It didn't fit on my laptop screen.
2. The most common cause of death was a bomb spawning right on top of the bunny, making m unable to save him.

manuq says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:44am

pl0xz0rz for 1, if you are using the html5 version, just zoom out the browser

manuq says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:48am

Cute game! Very well done.

SkyTheCoder says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:59am

My rabbit got to eat a lot of carrots while dodging those pineapples. ;)

I had to use the web version, as both of the .jar files quickly open grey windows and close them. Very quickly.

hypp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:52am

I would have liked to control the rabbit with the keyboard instead of the mouse. Still it is a cute game and it is quite nice.

rephus says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Thank you everyone for your comments . I will release a new version of this game after ludum dare so I really appreciate your suggestions.

@pl0xz0rz sorry about the screen size, that's why I uploaded two different jar versions with different sizes, however, you can still resize the game window to fit your screen in java, and as @manuq said, you can zoom out the html5 version too. You are right about the most common cause of death, I suggest you stay away from the borders of the screen, I will improve that on the new version.

@hypp nice suggestion, it didn't occur to me

@NuSan at first I wanted to add more bomb types, but I thought that the key of this game is that is "simple", but I will keep your suggestion in mind for the new version.

marbu says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Simple game, but cute, fun, and well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]