August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Balls

by randomelginguy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Battle Balls you rapidly fire balls at pucks to score points.
Additional pucks are added every 10 seconds.
First to 3 wins.

Sound created using Mac port of SFXR: http://thirdcog.eu/apps/cfxr
Noise Textures generated using: http://www.noisetexturegenerator.com
Developed in free version of Unity3D: http://unity3d.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#343Innovation3.27
#393Fun3.11
#538Overall3.07
#710Audio2.24
#818Graphics2.46
#824Mood2.38
#937Theme2.69
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Tusoalsob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55am

Nice idea.

I realy like the idea that you have not unlimmeted amunation and so a bit of a meta Game envolves where you tray to block a masive cube stack but keep the balls to do so in your space so you can overpower the other side for a goal. a 2 player version whoud be nice, because the AI dosn't get this level of strategic play

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03am

It is a good idea, use strategy to beat the enemy, but the AI is too weak.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Nice idea, addictive game :)

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Nice mechanics, and nice way to keep the balls in play every 10 seconds. I'd like to see more of this, especially more related to doing interesting stuff on the playing fiild, some risk-reward mechanics (doing some trickshots might push all pucks slightly towards the enemy... no idea) anything to break the monotony of shooting pucks better than the enemy, anything that would create interesting patterns of gameplay. But very very nice concept.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

I like the concept. It's not really fun yet thought. The ammo limit is a nice idea, but it leads to nothing happening a lot of the time. In general it feels like it needs to be quite a bit faster. Perhaps make the balls more forceful?

Also, I quite like the way it looks.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

The game is very enjoyable and innovative, though the constant addition of boxes really hinders the gameplay at some point.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Cool idea, especially the ammunition system, but the game tends to get very stuck (for me at least). I think increasing the power of shots would make it more fun.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Cool concept! I agree with Tusoalsob in that I wish there was a two player version. But I thought it was really fun.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Fun! I wish there was a two player version on one pc :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I'll probably add in a two player in the near future, shouldn't be too much work if it's shared keyboard or something. I'll wait coz I'm guessing I shouldn't be adding functionality after the deadline :)

Zener says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Very funny! Very nice concept and well use of physics!! I agree with two players it can hilarious

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Good game! The balls look like vegetable XD When a puck gets in a corner you can't do anything about it anymore :(

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Nice idea, this would probably be very cool in multiplayer :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]