August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grand Steam: DUEL

by stellar-Ø - Jam Entry

You only have 10 seconds to beat your rival!

Please feel free to give us your feedback, actually this game isn't 100% done, but I hope you enjoy the game :D


Actually, this is a spinoff of our upcoming game, Grand Steam :
http://blog.stellar-0.com/search/label/Grand%20Steam

art by Lazcht | @Lazcht
audio & design by clea leshlick | @clealeshlick
code by hipon | @ricolemba

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Graphics(Jam)4.43
#35Audio(Jam)3.81
#112Innovation(Jam)3.43
#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#144Overall(Jam)3.45
#179Mood(Jam)3.22
#216Fun(Jam)3.09
#318Humor(Jam)2.31
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I love these types of games! I think you did a really good job and all it needs is like a hotseat mode to play with another person and it could get really strategic. The execution of the whole thing is really great. Also it would be fun to have battles last more than one turn so it isn't just whoever does the most damage. Obviously you could add more moves or characters or whatever but the core is there and I really think you did a good job!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

one of the best graphics that I've seen this ludumdare,so awesome!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

By the way, I always lose...

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really pleasing the eyes and ears, insta-5 stars for that!
It seems pure game of luck as of now, but this is promising proof-of-concept of what seems like a great game.

Nice work!

mirzasan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

this is look like suikoden duel but this more complex, great concept and very nice graphic

Khopa says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

Great music, great graphics, great gameplay :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I loved the visual style but I dont think I understood the mechanics exactly...seems like no matter what I do I lose =(

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17am

The graphics and audio are very well put together! I think it needs some kind of meta-game or something, though, because the gameplay/outcome feels rather random. Completely understandable, though (it's difficult to get everything you want in on time).

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31am

I really liked the way you used the seconds here, almost like action points! I thought about something similar but in the end went totally different haha

watch213 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51am

With the way it is abalanced right now, there is no way to predict what the opponent is going to throw out. the best strategy is just to use 2 heavy's as that will make sure you do the most damage especially since you start with the heavy first and the fact heavy will disrupt a light attack.

Siegfur says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39am

Good graphics, nice use of theme, likable audio, but gameplay is not really addictive. Interesting variations of TRPG battles.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I really liked this game. A way you guys could expand it is placing like 3 rounds and even placing characters with different skills or something.
nice job!5/5

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice graphics :) love the jrpg battle syste charme.well done :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very nice graphics and audio. The game itself was pretty much pure luck, but could really turn into something interesting.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:42am

A bit more interactivity during fight might have made it more fun, not sure..
The visuals were good and the UI was cool too.. A polished entry

lesterpig says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Very polished entry, but it's not interactive enough. Good use of the theme ;)

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Pretty fun. Would've been made much better with multiplayer.

nihilocrat says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Really cool looking, and great use of the theme, but it felt kind of like a crapshoot since I just had to guess what the enemy was going to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]