August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Warp

by FlashRocks - Jam Entry

In Time Warp, the goal is to save time from an apocolyptic event. Collect coins until you have enough to unlock the wormhole and advance to the next level. Time collapses after 10 seconds, so hurry up!

CONTROLS

On a standard layout, you can use the left and right arrow keys to steer your ship and the up and down arrow keys to control acceleration.

GAMEPLAY

Using your ship, collect all the green, good coins but avoid the anticoins which will hurt time. Once you've collected all of the good coins the wormhole will open, leading to the next level. Powerups can be activated by clicking their icon at the bottom of the screen. Powerups can be bought from the shop at the end of the game.

CREDITS


FlashRocks - Programming, Sound Effects, Voice Acting
Matthew Petry - Art, Composing of Main Theme
Meew0 - General
GraviPy - General

TOOLS USED

HTML5
Personal Code Library - Rift.js
CFXR
Audacity
FMLE
CamTwist
Inkscape
MuseScore possibly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#335Audio(Jam)2.67
#348Theme(Jam)2.95
#517Overall(Jam)2.56
#520Mood(Jam)2.13
#550Fun(Jam)2.16
#584Innovation(Jam)2.00
#586Graphics(Jam)1.89
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Was a little confused on how to play.

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

The controls do not seem to work when I try to play this, even after clicking on the screen a few times.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56pm

The controls are fixed now. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33am

I never really liked this kind of controls, and also the fact that gold coins and anticoins overlapped really often as soon as you get at least two victories made it a bit difficult to master. The voice we hear after we've taken a wormhole is quite funny...I believe that was yours? Anyway, nice idea, and the shop adds to the overall experience.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Nice music/sound. Silly little game. I didn't have problem with the controls... it was a bit tough to see with all the UI mixed with the game area though.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I like the sounds :)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

:D

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:04am

That wormhole sound xD... Good game :D

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:45am

Nice space game guys! Captivating music, and great wormhole effect. The shop is a good idea, and made me try again and go for more coins. Switching my hand from keyboard to mouse just for the poweups was a bit problematic. Would be great if you add keystrokes for the powerups. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]