August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You have 10 seconds!

by demiurgo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to match the right number with the glowing letter to defuse the bomb.

The letter starts to glow only when there are less than 5 seconds left.


The difficulty of the game increases over time and decrease a little each time you lose.


Press anything to restart the game when you lose.


Use ENTER to toggle Fullscreen mode.

ESCAPE to close.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Theme3.69
#391Innovation3.19
#693Humor2.00
#700Audio2.27
#863Fun2.54
#863Mood2.32
#899Overall2.69
#937Graphics2.23
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

The wires interested me. If you continue to develop this have you considered clarifying which wire to cut and embellishing the input and output to cut?

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice idea, maybe a slightly smaller default resolution?

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Hello, could you give more instructions? I tried 10 times but still have absolutely no idea what I’m supposed to do. I don’t even know if I’m supposed to do something with the keyboard, or the mouse, or something else.

Also I’m on ArchLinux and the /usr/bin/python binary is actually Python 3, so your launch.sh script didn’t work for me. It would work better to change it to

> python2 main.py || python main.py

Kragnir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I like the idea and think it go well with the theme.

It seems like the first 5 seconds lose its meaning after the first few levels since you need to be lucky to pick the right wire to follow preemptively.

The different colors add quite a bit of luck in the wire configuration since sometime you get all different and then you can simply pick by color.

For later levels much of the difficulty come from not being able to tell which one of 2 wires that intersect each other go where and that should probably be fixed.

demiurgo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

@ethankennerly
Yes there is sure a lot of room for improvements on that aspect :)

@Kwrky
I added support for monitor different than mine on the very last minute, but I guess that it should not be difficult to change the window to be resizable, given how I set up the rendering

@Latcarf
Hi fellow Arch-er ;)
You should press the number on the keyboard which corresponds to the flashing letter to the left.
You have to follow the wire to see exactly which one it is.

Also for the .sh I made a silly mistake :/
I have an alias for python2 so of course I did not catch it when I tested it -_-


@Kragnir
Yeah I wanted to use the number of colors to set the difficulty, but in the end for time constraints I decided to let it random.

For the intersecting wires I think it should not be too difficult to draw a darker border, so you can follow more easily where the wire is going.
I'll have to try it :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12pm

@demiurgo: Thanks, now I found out how to play it. The problem was that I have a non-qwerty keyboard layout (with the numbers in shift) so it didn't work, but switching to qwerty made it work.

The game is quite fun and addictive. The fact that some wires are sometimes of different colors is a bit odd because if there is only one wire of the given color you don't even have to follow it, and intersecting wires of the same color are not always easy to follow.
But it's still a nice game :-)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Nice work, really innovative! Only problem was that the game matched my screensize, some of the letters were offscreen in some levels.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

The concept is good, but took me a while to notice which letter was glowing , Maybe if you increase the letter size this will be fixed :)

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice idea!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Interesting idea. The first five seconds of each round seemed a bit pointless, though - since you only find out later which letter to match. But nice game!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Clean fun game, it gets pretty intense. I don't think I can handle more than 5, too much! The red wire is sometimes hard to follow when it is overlapping with the timer, mostly when there's a lot of wires.

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Extremely simple but fun nevertheless. The window was too big, but it worked with the fullscreen mode. It didn't really feel like the difficulty changed over time though.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Hehe, nice one, like the way you have to defuse the bomb, well done :)

cwkx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Great idea, simple but fun gameplay, good job :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

Interesting idea! great job! there should be a phone version :D this is awesome!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Go job with the theme

Sheep says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:09am

Kinda strange you have to wait for the letters to start glowing. And I think they didn't glow further in the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]