August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cannonslinger

by Trilby - Jam Entry

This is a 2 player game.

Dodge the other player's laser while you wait for your cannon to charge up. (It takes about 10 seconds.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

I like the look of the game but was so sad when the cannons didn't have any effect when they hit the other person.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43pm

reminds me of Tron, I was disappointed when the cannon didnt hurt the other player. This has good potential you should finish it!

Trilby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I would like to finish it but I have been saying that with my last few LD entries. :/ ;)

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22pm

No worries - just keep at it :)

The running animation looks really good - just because the compo is over doesn't mean you can't keep working on it!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02am

Looks like a pretty good start to a fighting game. Hope you stick with it.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30am

This has potential, however I've been playing against myself now for a while, but nobody dies, nothing is happening. Also, one cannon shoots faster bolts than the other...

Trilby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

@evilDan @GaTechGrad
Thanks. I intend to finish Cannonslinger in my lifetime. I've spent the whole summer expanding on Spectrum (Mini LD 43 entry) which is going to be done by the end of this month. Then afterwards, I'll be revisiting a platformer game I started on 7 years ago. ;)

@udo
I probably shouldn't have submitted it but I didn't feel too good about hiding my 3 days of intensive work on my hard drive.

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Blue has an advantage, faster bullets! If they would hit the other though... :) good start but needs to be finished.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

You didn't finish making the game, it seems :(

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Lol. Played this with friend and have a good fun. Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]