August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Watch and Solve

by VagabondEx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple puzzle game where you are shown the solution for a short time, in which you must memorize it.
After that, the board is cleared, and you have exactly 10 seconds to solve the puzzle from memory.

Worked on this for about 5 hours altogether. Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#700Theme3.00
#929Overall2.65
#931Innovation2.43
#981Mood2.07
#1027Fun2.26
#1141Graphics1.77
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Good flashcard game, I like the concept

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Too much maths

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I enjoyed that. Hard I had no chance but medium I could just about manage it!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Nice flashcard game! Easy was so easy, medium was quite funny and hard was impossible! But I'm sure it's me, I'm bad with this kind of games.

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Good use of theme. Simple but effective.

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Fine concept and use of the theme. Fine idea with the hard-difficulty - was quite hard.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Hello there! I like how you used the theme, but I think it would have been doubly effective to "balance" the game a bit so that the viewing/memorizing part could also be set to 10 seconds instead of 20.

I think a game of this type would have benefited a bit more from simple sprites instead of numbers, as well, though then the memorization might have been more complex...

Good luck!

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I like the idea! The memorizing phase should be much shorter for easy mode.

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Thanks for the ideas. I wanted to use different symbols, and indeed, different memorization time for different difficulties, but just didn't have the time.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice simple game. My best score on medium was 14,308 and my best score on hard was 16,938. At first I kept trying to click "1" first on medium mode.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice simple game! Hard holds well its name. :)

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:54am

It took me a few tries to figure out what to do; the "symbols" bar on the right implies that you'll be dragging those cards onto the play field, or perhaps pressing keys to select them, and I had to play it a few times before I realised that I was supposed to click the squares in order.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

Cute. Ramps up quickly in difficulty!

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

@Darien Thanks for pointing this out, I never noticed.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

I was hoping to see some good memory games! After all, I think 10 seconds is about the length of a person's working memory.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:47am

I feel like it would have been more intuitive had it started with 1 instead of 0, but that's just me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]