August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Once upon a flight

by infinitedog - Jam Entry

You are a princess who was kidnapped by a drake!
Memorize the sky and all the obstacles.
The drake will let you fall in 10 SECONDS!

Watch out! Your knight is waiting for you at bottom.
Try to be catched by his hands for win the game.
Take the hearts that your warrior is sending you for improve your score.
And take care of stormy clouds and evil birds!

Arrow Right | Arrow Left: Movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#333Graphics(Jam)3.11
#409Humor(Jam)1.93
#418Theme(Jam)2.83
#470Mood(Jam)2.38
#496Audio(Jam)1.59
#504Innovation(Jam)2.39
#517Overall(Jam)2.56
#548Fun(Jam)2.17
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07am

Nice game ! I like that type of gameplay. I find it a little bit hard, since I can't move the character up/down, it's hard to move away from the obstacles. The graphics are nice, beautiful drawing. The sound is a little bit annoying but it's ok. Overall, it's a nice game !

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55pm

OSX download link screwed up. Fixed it, but the game doesn't run :( (osx 10.8.3)

infinitedog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

@kebabskal I fixed the links, thank you! Which version of JVM are you using? :O

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Alright so I'll run through what I was thinking the first time I played. The dragon taking up the princess in the beginning was slightly confusing the first time, as I was trying to control something. Of course I quickly realized when gameplay started what I needed to do.

Some things feel a bit off with the game. It feels a bit unfair, as you can't really see what's directly below you until you're basically on top of it already. On top of that when you DO hit something it's either insta-death or one of two hits until you die. Makes the game feel kind of impossibly difficult, not really in a good challenging way. It's just sort of frustrating.

-Dylan Gallardo

tompudding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Really cool idea, nice use of the theme to give us a 10 second glimpse at the obstacles. In practice the birds can be very hard to avoid sometimes, and I think that poor knight would be crushed after such a long fall! Great job

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I really loved the menu- It would have been nice with some music to complete the mood.
The artwork is pretty good, but the sound is a bit anoying.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I've downloaded the .jar, but it seems neither to run nor to return any error at all.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Hi Darien, what OS and java version are you running?

Vaalen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:13pm

It's a nice game and the concept is orginal. At the beginning it's impossible to avoid birds because the princess fall down too slowly.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:28pm

nice twist upon the usual platformer routine, well-done visuals. not a big fan of the fact that I can only see a small portion of the screen that actually matters. seems like a cheap way to rise difficulty.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:34am

Interesting concept, but I found it way too hard to avoid the birds, even with the advanced preview.

Incidentally, I ran into a glitch where it kept restarting when the dragon got to the top, after winning once.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]