August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Speedungeon

by Xaychru04 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One dungeon, one bomb. Your goal: Going out of there through 25 rooms. The only thing is that the bomb will explode in 10 seconds, so you've to run and avoid traps very rapidly.

This is my third LD, and I think it's my best entry for now. It's very challenging at the end, and maybe the difficulty isn't properly balanced as I ran out of time at this point of the development.

But anyway, I hope you'll enjoy this game! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Fun3.98
#35Overall3.93
#50Audio3.64
#73Theme3.83
#99Humor3.41
#108Mood3.49
#226Graphics3.50
#521Innovation3.00

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44am

Very nice!

Getting set back two screens is nasty though :)

DeadlyFugu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Fun, I loved the controls! Could've done with more chekpoints though :(

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

Great game
Very good level design
Difficulty was high, but it was fun to beat it

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

Cool game overall but the difficulty was pretty hard for me (also having to restart at the last checkpoint is frustrating).

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

This is great, good graphics, music and gameplay!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Great and fun game! I only wish that you would respawn in the room you where in. (And first time the bomb exploded almost gave me an heart attack :P )

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Great game! I loved the graphics, and the music was catchy. Some of the text was pretty funny.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I liked the music a lot.

m1_10sz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I think that's one of the best games here I've played so far, good job! The difficulty is fine, although a few more checkpoints would be nice. :) Also, the death animation is cool, I just kept on running into spikes on purpose. :D

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Enjoyed this a lot! :)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

The bomb is just so awesome!

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Really interesting. I like the text jokes a lot ^^

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Amazing game! :D
I love it, the explosion and particules are awesome. The music and the commentary are great. Right now this is the best game I played for this compo :D
PS: i will take a look to the source ;)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Thanks all for playing and rating my game, I appreciate the feedback. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Awesome game, but it definitely needs more checkpoints. Also, I think the timer should be slightly more subtle, it's a bit too excessive at the moment.

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Hah--GREAT idea! It kinda-sorta reminds me of a dungeon hack version of Half Minute Hero (except with 10 seconds!)

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

This is fun, I really like this game!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

This is fast and fun, but the controls feel a bit too slippery for the kind of precision the levels require. I also don't really think the text is necessary. Something about being repeatedly told I'm stupid for dying didn't help me enjoy the game.

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

awesome! love the laser and the way it emits those wireframe squares. fun and challenging. Music is super awesome. Well Done!!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22am

I absolutely love the pace of this game. But I agree that given the difficulty every room could have been it's own checkpoint.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Great game, very intense.
I really enjoyed the challenging levels, they felt hard and yet not so hard that I wanted to quit. The graphics where nice and fitted the game well and the sound was nice. I really liked the combination of the text and sound with the different rhythms.

Great job!

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Fun and tricky! Great work, man!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Beat it! Fun and challenging game. I wouldn't have minded more checkpoints, especially the so called impossible room was pain to get back to after failing at the spikes. Regardless, good music and gameplay, fun entry!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

challenging, but rewarding. i liked it.

Blecta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very nice game ! I loved the way you introduced each new "trap" and the difficulty which increased after each checkpoint is also a good point !
Graphics are simple but cool and little messages raised the fun of the game :-)

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Love games with running commentary. It's cool how just good level design can take such a simple concept and make it really nice.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I had a lot of fun! Great work!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I like the inertia in controls. The game is really fun, too!
Graphics and music at the top. :)
Difficulty is well-balanced.

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Very good game, music fit the game very well, and the little text thing at the bottom was quite good too, although a little more checkpoints would be appreciated :P

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Nice, with some refinement it might be the next super meatboy :P

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Very fun game! Unforgiving yet still manages to make it enjoyable. Would love to see you expand on this mechanic and see it become a commercial game!

P.S. I will go back and finish it!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

good job

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Would love to have arrow controls on top of WASD. The huge yellow timer is a distraction - although I guess that's the point, but the game is already quite hard as it is. Would be nice to see a speedrun mode? Also more levels.

All in all very well done, congrats, looking forward to see what you do next!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:05pm

That was pretty good. The art and music were very good. Gameplay was simple but fun. The varying sounds with the dialogue typing was a nice touch. Nice entry.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Win7 x64: The game is lagging a lot for me. I'll try to ignore that while I comment/rate - judging by the comments, I'm the only one.

The graphics are fine. I think you should really do something about this color scheme though - with a better one the game would be far more pleasing to look at.

I really like the urgency coming from the burning fuse!

schnerble says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Great work! The bomb timer resetting on every screen doesn't entirely make sense to me, but the game is a lot more fun that way :) It's pretty tough with the checkpoint system, though - lots of replaying levels to do... nice one, though. Graphics are good and the sound is great.

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:09am

Hehe I love this. The style, the graphics, the time ticking in your face. Good humor, kind of a GLaDOSy taste to it [:

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:08pm

The music is great and the sound effects fit very well. You made a nice flow game with smooth controls and I really had fun while playing this, even as the levels got quiet hard. For a Ludum Dare game, I would make savepoints after every screen instead of manually placed checkpoints. But anyway, very good job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:49am

Wow, lots of levels!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb :p

Really enjoyed this one, had a lot of fun with it. Plays pretty slick, looks good, great music, quality all round.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]