August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Thade

by Aru Nyan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=== Controls ===
Mouse to control mostly everything
Spacebar to progress in cutscenes
S to skip cutscenes
R to reset mini-game (if you get stuck)

=== Tips ===
You can only get stuck in one mini-game, you can restart it by R.
In the Vault mini-game, you can reset the zones by double-clicking on them.

=== Thanks to ===
N0_NAMED_GUY

=== Updates ===
Update: bug (preventing you from leaving the corridor area) fixed
Update 2: added cutscene skip button and reset button to the statue puzzle
Update 3: bug fix
Update 4: added some control hints to the game (because people would not read the controls on this page)
Update 5: added timelapse, with no music (dammit, youtube)
Update 6: bug fix

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#193Graphics3.57
#261Mood3.15
#406Theme3.32
#471Overall3.14
#476Fun3.00
#566Audio2.53
#633Humor2.11
#749Innovation2.72

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35am

I enjoyed the "story". The beating heart visual was very well done. The game itself is competent but didn't grab me violently. I would like to play more though.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

Very intriguing story :)

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

Interesting story, which explains the actual game quite well. A 'skip prologue' button would have been useful; if there is one, I couldn't find it.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

hmm I dont think I got far enough in the game. But that beating heart...

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

Great aesthetics

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

...that's not very nice. Everytime I lose (which happens really easily since 10 seconds is not a lot for those partly rather complex pipe things) I have to start over and watch the complete intro again?
I guess I didn't get far enough to be able to rate the game. So all I can say is that it is indeed quite intriguing, and that those isometric screenshots looks very nice and I'd like to get there. :P

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

I would have like to play more but having to replay the intro everytime (even when skipping text) is a nightmare :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

I love the beating heart. Nothing but different colored circles layered? Beautiful! But having to go through the whole story again for replay made me sad.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Nice artwork and opening, but frustrating long opening sequence and akward pauses between screens making me wonder what I was supposed to do.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

The room with heartless statue reminded me of Sanitarium game. I liked the storz, and the graphics, the puzzles were really fun too - I would like to have some sort of restart button in the golden heart puzzle, though, as I got stuck and could not get progress further.

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

Excellent graphics, and very good use of the DB16 palette.

For some reason I had difficulty completing the pipe puzzles at the beginning and found myself having to sit through the intro over and over again. That was a bit aggravating.

Good use of classic puzzles for different tasks.

Would love to see it fully completed!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nice job! Might want to condense the story a bit, so it isn't a wall of text at the start. Nice graphics!

btw, I figured out the OS X bug you were having for my game.

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Thank you everyone for your feedback. Skip cutscene and reset minigame buttons have been added.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

When I loose at the second level, it fails to restart (it blocks at the nice beginning heart). Else I enjoy the beginning, nice work.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Cool story. I got to a vault but couldn't reset the mini-game so I got stuck there.

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00pm

The mini-game does not have to be reset, you can double-click the numbers to reset that zone.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I liked the story. It was the main thing pushing forward to guess what the hell was I supposed to do on your puzzles. (Is that fixed now? At the time of my play-through there were no hints)

Couldn't pass the door puzzle because my brain was not made to solve such puzzles.

The visuals are awesome, the storyline even more awesome, but my brain just can't handle your game properly. Will probably come back for more.

Also, that beating heart. Well done!

8/10, will play again to beat the crap out of your little game

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I forgot to mention that the controls for the isometric view (when you control that dead rich guy) don't work properly. You gotta click multiple times until the guy moves properly.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I've never, ever been so stressed by a game of Lights Out. I even think I worked up a sweat. I never ever expected that. It's incredible how much the timer and story changed the feeling of these games.

Overall, I enjoyed it a lot, despite the constant crushing claustrophobia of impending death. :-)

I only have two criticisms. First, the mechanic wasn't always obvious. I was able to guess the other ones, but the peg jumping made me have to ask. Maybe a hint button would have been nice, but given the theme, it might be better without. The lack of understanding leading to increased frustration and despair. So maybe you should just disregard this one.

The second one seems to be echoed by others; give a restart button if people fail the initial puzzle. It's annoying to have to go by the menu. (I had to do so three times).

Apart from that, top marks. I'm stunned!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Fantastic game, loves all the minigames, didn't take too long to figure out the rules to them either. Awesome job, only thing missing is music, but the whole thing was extremely fun. The first puzzle was pretty hard, but it was still doable and made getting to the meat and potatoes of the game that much more rewarding.

pedroka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Overall: a good game.

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I really liked the story and the graphics, controls are a bit wonky, but I liked it
The only problem I'd say it took me a while to understand what i was supposed to do in a couple of games (the one with the numbers and the one from the statue)

Sinuath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I really enjoyed it, good job making it in 48 hours!

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

Good graphics, appropriate audio, and good use of narrative to set the mood. I was in a rush to connect pipes to save my very life! Sadly, i lack the reflexes necessary to see much of your game. I can tell by the screenshots that I'm missing a lot and that makes me sad... I'm not quick enough with a mouse.

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

Very interesting story and would play it more but 10 seconds just seems to short. That beating heart was awesome though.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

Nice puzzle game. I only played the easy mode but it was quit fun once you get past the pipe puzzles. You should have the game reset at the beginning of a puzzle instead of restart the game. I was also disappointed at the ending but maybe time got in the way. It would be interesting to pursue these characters more in a postmortem.

-AlucardX60

Suese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

It seemed to bug out at the isometric stage. I couldn't move about or get anywhere. It looks a lot more elaborate than I was able to get into.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Yeah - the fade/reset screens need to be faster and reset to the current puzzle... it took me forever to get past the pipes! I love the game though: great concept - the overall aesthetics and story worked really nicely together.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Oh, and the pipes could use a short "beep beep" or something to let you know that you're nearly out of time... even though, like 10 seconds is nearly out of time to begin with ;)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

ONLY THE GOLDENEST HEARTS

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42am

Classic gameplay for the short part I managed to play (pipe puzzles). It was really really hard to make them in 10 seconds, I would have loved to make it to the later parts of the game, but as it already been said, it's a bit annoying that you have to watch back the intro every time you lose.

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:03am

You can restart the game from after the intro by pressing R on the game over screen.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Enjoyed the dialogue, very fun!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:48am

great mood! may the rich live forever! muahahaha

DuFF says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Excellent intro/story. Enjoyed the classic puzzles. Didn't beat it yet, but I'll play again.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

good job. entertaining game

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

brings me back to pipe maze in the beginning. I really like the sound effects you used too.

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Nice written story. Also very cool visuals.

GigaBass says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:43am

Awful game. Lame minigames, stupid story, too easy, lots of bugs, and very hard to walk around.

GigaBass says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:44am

Kidding :3 Well, except the very hard to walk around part. And the fact there was a bug that I beat the game without solving any minigames :>

Aurel300 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:26am

Not there anymore :>

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:47pm

it would have been better to progress the story line longer -- nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]