August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Taxi

by HippyJonYo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my game Time Taxi. You'll play the role of a Time Taxi driver who works a 10 second shift transporting a citizen throughout those 10 seconds. The instructions are all in-game.

Please enjoy. Can you become a Time Taxi Legend? (If anyone gets the rank of Time Taxi Legend, let me know! I only did it once, when debugging with the timer on!)

NOTE: I've seen confusion about the timer seeming inaccurate. When the game says begin, you must count from 0 to whenever you pick up the customer, so for example if he's 6 seconds in and he says to go to 9 seconds, you must drive ahead 3 seconds. Just wanted to clear it up so more people could enjoy. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Innovation3.68
#145Theme3.67
#260Humor2.81
#389Audio2.83
#425Mood2.89
#497Overall3.11
#647Fun2.81
#876Graphics2.35
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40am

TimeTaxi.exe is not a valid Win32 executable (seems to be 64bit?)

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46am

Ah, it may be 64bit. This was my first time making a LOVE exe so there's bound to be problems. I'll look into getting a 32bit version included here.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Very cute/interesting idea.

It's sort of disheartening to see "you were late by .1 seconds" when I was so close. Is there a cutoff, or does it just always tell you how late/early you were?

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

It always tells you how late/early you are. It's possible to get 0 seconds, but you have to be really good!

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Yeah, I can't run on Win32

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

First off - I like the idea.
That being said your game is very depressing and I'll tell you why - this is what happened to me:

I started my 10 seconds shift as I would any normal day. I see a guy and I pull over - he asks me kindly to take him to +9 seconds, I say "Ok, hop in" then proceed to taking out my stopwatch (an actual, real life stop watch! ), see the 9 seconds pass and I say "Here we are!".. then the guy says "You're 6.54 seconds late, I aint paying!".. this happened to me all day and in the end I even got fired... life sucks man..

But seriously, the in-game timer is broken (running on Windows 7 64 bit) :(

ryebread761 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59am

I like the idea, but the game was pretty hard.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00am

Cool concept, enjoyed playing it. Would like it even more with better graphics.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

Interesting theme. Very challenging too!

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

@Vasileiadis, I think there may have been some confusion about how the timer works, and people here have also been confused about the timer, so I added a note above. I guess I need to work on my in-game instructions. :D

Thanks for playing and commenting everyone! :D

Reyn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

Awesome. I also have a time perception game, your takes it to the next level though :) Feels like a mixture between my game and braid :P Well Done

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Interesting idea.

However it's nasty that you have no real indication where on the time line you are.

For others: The game works on a fixed time line. Your horizontal position is a exact place in time. 0 seconds is at the very left end (I think), there's no end at 10 seconds though.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

It took me a little while to work out how the time line was functioning but when I did I found this to be a fun little game. The concept is cool and the main gameplay mechanic is pretty satisfying.

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:21am

Amazing use of the theme! Really challenging and fun music! I really liked the idea of having to count backwards based on how early or late you were dropping people off, and then readjust your timer when you reached the starting point again. Some of the text could have been a bit more readable and perhaps put some padding around the story/instructions bit so that the text isn't stuck against the side of the window. Great job!

Ciaran54 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Interesting concept, pretty difficult ;)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I got an Above Average rating as a time taxi driver. I guess I'm gonna switch careers... :D The music makes it really fun to play. And once I delivered the customer on time and he complained about being "0 seconds late", I guess you can't satisfy your customers these days anymore...

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:26am

Wow this is really cool! I've not played anything quite like this before, really enjoyed it :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]