August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BulletTime

by CoffeeOnimal - Jam Entry

Navigate the maze, but you only have 10 seconds of bullet time to act offensively against the tower.

Move your tank with WASD or Arrow keys, point the turret with the mouse.
Turret directions are limited to the Cardinal points; Up-Down-Left-Right.
The towers have free rotation. Be careful!

Also, the towers' bullets are very strong; one hit will take out one health from you. Conversely, it takes 10 of your shots to kill a tower.

Some notes; I really wanted to do more with this, I had started on a Level Editor, but I discovered a game breaking bug that took me hours to hunt down and as such, I sacrificed sounds, decent graphics and the level editor.
I also only had time to do one level, and not much testing, so I don't know if it's posible to beat it. I'll have to do some balancing for the post-compo version.

Thank you for taking the time to review, and if you leave a comment, I'll be sure to review yours back.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#468Graphics(Jam)2.64
#484Humor(Jam)1.50
#495Theme(Jam)2.61
#522Audio(Jam)1.18
#534Innovation(Jam)2.29
#545Mood(Jam)1.84
#567Fun(Jam)2.07
#579Overall(Jam)2.33
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

Chipmunk134 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09am

interesting concept but the bullets don't seem to do anything.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Almost beat it, got down to the last enemy and ran out of time. I like the bullet time concept. Not a bad attempt :)

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I really enjoyed the game, but the enemys are a lil bit too strong, take too much bullets for the short time!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Fun, tanks always deliver fun!

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Not a bad game by any standards. Sure it could've used audio, but I liked it all the same.
I got to the last enemy, then was killed :<
I think the level is possible though.

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I managed to wipe out all the turrets and reach the other side, but didn't trigger a win condition. :(

I'm also not clear on the bullet time. I thought it would be a reservoir of "slow-motion time" like Max Payne. Anyways, it looks good.

Sorry about your obstacles during development! Looking forward to the next one.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Had a little fun clearing the level of turrets. Could do with some feedback on bullet hits (hit particles, enemies flashing etc) and it's not immediately clear why your turret doesn't seem to follow the mouse (eventually you figure out the turret only points north, south, east or west and you have to move the mouse to that position relative to the tank to make the turret move). Not sure I understand exactly how you intended the 10 seconds of gun time thing to work - repeatedly tapping the fire button seemed to let me kill effectively without worrying about any limits. I dig the camera position, I dig the colorful nature of the game and I'd like to see more.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Like the aesthetics, very clean. A little more player-instruction in the form of controls & fail state notification would be most welcome.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Woot, beat it with 4.54 seconds to spare!

It's a good start to a game with the main mechanics in place, I agree that adding some sound effects and possibly some particle explosions would add to the game and yes, I'd like to see more added to it, more levels, different enemies / other elements could put a greater emphasis on player strategy post-jam development which would make it even better!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:46am

Thanks for playing everyone, and I really appreciate the comments.

I have some more plans for a post-compo version, mostly including power-ups, BulletTime refills, things like that.

For the time being, I've posted a new build that fixes the Timer bug on level reset as well as the End Game. It is beatable now, all one level of it ;)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Tried repeatedly but could not fire upwards.

Shooting left, right, and down worked just fine.

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Could be interesting but aiming was too clunky.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25am

I fell just short of beating the last turret. I could never get my tank to face upwards though.

Adding a little feedback when your bullets hit would help a lot with making the best of your gun time. Neat idea.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:50am

I like the idea, but I found it hard to aim away from the camera. This made the far enemies a little too tough :)

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Good game, but it needs maybe a bit more polishing ^^

MvdLaar says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

It's a fine start, something you could work with when expanding this. However, to give you a tip for the next time: you don't have to complete a game, not at all, but make sure the basic game states are in place (start, end, conditions); now I could just keep on moving and shooting while I was actually game over. A little more feedback would be appreciated as well. :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Very simple, took me a couple tries to work out how everything worked as there isn't much feedback to anything

char68 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:04pm

The maze structure/colors were pretty cool. I don't think the time to bullet firing system really works though. The best strategy is essentially to fire one bullet as fast as possible, wait for a second to chamber the next bullet, and repeat. It slows the gameplay down so instead of firing quickly I'm conserving time and relying on my ability to click my mouse button as fast as possible. If the bullets were fired as a stream that might be a different story. Maybe lasers would work :]

Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:46pm

could do with some textures I guess but a good game is here. multiplayer could make this interesting if you are thinking of developing this further

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]