August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bangarang

by Infernal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second LD "completed"

This is mouse+kb input. shoot them, dodge their shots.. your health will drop to 0 in ten seconds if you don't keep hitting them with green squares.

Post compo release (do NOT use this one to rate it):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hfc7nhhfnbxtmmq/LD%2327-Bangarang-post-compo-version.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#618Graphics2.78
#748Mood2.48
#756Innovation2.71
#807Audio2.00
#870Theme2.80
#878Overall2.71
#887Fun2.51
#904Humor1.61

Comments

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16am

Yay SDL! Hard game. The game window seems to be quite a bit bigger than my screen, so maybe I was missing some UI elements - it was hard to tell why I was dying.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

Either I suck... or this game is really hard lol. I couldn't hit a single one 0.o? Still a fun premise though, I like it!

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

Wow, that was incredibly difficult, incredibly hard to perceive, and thoroughly enjoyable, thanks ;)

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

I improved their aim just before submitting and also reduced the health benefit from damaging the enemies. perhaps too much :(

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

I could not hit anything no matter how hard I tried, also seemed like the enemies would still shoot at you even when they passed you. I like the wire framey goodness though. ;)

kidder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Difficult to get a handle on the depth of enemies, but neat idea.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

Can you actually shoot the guys? I played probalby 20 times and couldnt hit anything? Or do they just keep you alive longer? Why not show a timer/health if that is the case?

A bit lost as to what the goal is, cause i just basically couldnt hit anything and kept dying.

I like the geometric graphics though

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

It was fun, though I had quite a difficulty in distinguishing the relative depth of all the objects. It was hard to tell if an enemy or a bullet was only a few inches away or a couple feet. Still very fun though! :)

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

I like the feeling of it, but right now it's really hard to tell when I'm being hit (and when I'm hitting). It seems that sometimes the enemies disappear when I hit them, but other times they don't (or I'm missing). Clarifying depth and distance relative to your position would really help. Maybe make the enemies darker the farther they are away? I'm not sure. Because that feedback isn't clear, I can't really make an informed decision on how to improve my strategy.

Like I said though, the feeling is good. Kinda like tempest crossed with fotonica :)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Really liked the wireframe graphics and the idea, but no matter where I aim I can't hit the blue triangles, or at least I cannot tell if I am hitting them or not.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

God, the difficulty on that thing. Enjoyable nontheless

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Pretty fun, and very interesting graphics style. The game did seem to chug a few times, though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

This game is just to hard. Maybe there are too many bullets?

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

This is a pretty cool idea, although I never really managed to get that far. It's kinda hard at times to see where you're going to shoot and where the other bullets are. Also, a display of your health/time could be a good addition in the future.

ranf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14am

I couldn't really find a way to hit the enemies reliably. It seems like my shots have a narrow range while the enemies continue to be a danger even after moving past me. I don't think I ever actually reached 10 seconds since I always died from the time limit. That being said, nice idea.

nicotr014 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Good work. I like the wireframes and the use of mathematics

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04am

Pretty good game. Some sort of health bar or hit indication would have been nice though.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:56am

A nice idea, but I feel it needs a bit more work.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Really hard to shoot them. It would be nice to have some sort of health bar or timer, and it could use a bit of polish and extra mechanics (maybe powerups).

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I intended to have drops from the enemies that you have to pick up to get health back but time was running out. I then made it so you get back a little hp per bullet impact on an enemy.. but it was too high so my health went up to 2000 (visible on caption bar when you play) so I tweaked it down.. a little too much it seems.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

sweet :3

Infernal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

post compo update (bug fixes etc) in description area. Not usable for rating.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:11am

This was a cool starfox style game and idea : ) Only complaint is that I wish there was an indicator for the time left and your health : (

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:35am

Found this game fun but hard. I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:51am

I like the vector graphics, reminds me of an old Star Wars game a bit. I found it very difficult to actually hit anything. The window height is way to big for my screen, the same as some of the others have mentioned.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]