August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Guest House

by cardboard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

==== WALKTHROUGH =====
http://www.wampastompa.com/games/guest_house.html


==== GAMEPLAY ====
The game is an adventure game similar to Myst (or at least more similar to Myst than other adventure games I've played). You have no visual inventory, no on-screen character representation, and you never see any people. Yes, I know Myst has people in it, but when it does it isn't very often. Click on objects and navigate the room by clicking the far left and far right of the screen. (The cursor will change to let you know when you will change views). That is all! Oh, the game ends when you open the door. Enjoy!


==== BUILDS =====
- Windows
unzip 'cardboard_guest_house.zip' and run 'main.exe'

- Python / Linux
requires Python 2.7 and Pygame.
run 'main.py' to play

- OS/X
I'm pretty sure the Python version should work for you. Let me know if there is a way I can compile a version for you (to make it easier to play) and I'll try to get my hands on a Mac to do so.

-ComPost
for windows users, unzip and then run 'main.exe'
for other OS's, download the source from github and run 'main.py'


==== ABOUT ====
I recently got into the Myst games (and lore) and finished Myst in about two days. I'm now working on reading the Book of Atrus before I start playing/experiencing Riven. After playing Myst I decided I would make an adventure game for the upcoming Ludum Dare (because it was only a week or so away at the time). I had a little mishap around the 45 hour mark, where I accidentally clicked a shortcut I have defined in Vim that exectutes '%!xxd -r' and then saves and quits. This totally screwed my game.py file over and I had to revert to the backup I made the night before. Luckily I have my code pretty well spread out across multiple files, so all I had to do was type out a bunch of repetitive and way-too-drawn-out code to get back up to speed. The moral of the story: don't put off putting your project on GitHub because you cannot think of a good repo name. Also, don't put volatile Vim shortcuts where you might accidentally press them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#11Graphics4.45
#14Mood4.05
#27Audio3.84
#87Overall3.69
#296Fun3.26
#310Innovation3.32
#402Humor2.53
#1098Theme2.32

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

the Good: Great music, awesome visual style, actually really good writing (most people are crap writers), good integration of depression theme into gameplay

The bad: Those were super-arbitrary puzzles, the longstanding problem with adventure games.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

Loved it. Great idea using clay and objects for your scenes. If it wasn't for your help I don't think I would have gotten very far in it though.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Unsolicited git/github advice:

You could run "git tag compo" and "git push origin compo" and then github creates zip files we can download from https://github.com/Cardboard/guest_house/releases without cloning the repo. Also as it stands now, the github page always points to master.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Amazing game, love the use of the clay, the music was fitting and nice and the puzzles were really interesting, only thing was that it didn't really seem to fit the 10 second theme, nonetheless I loved every second of it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I liked the art and little backstory to discover. The music was both homey and somber at the same time, which fit the general mood well. I'm sort of dense so I don't know how it fits the LD27 theme, though. Great job!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice job. I couldn't find the key for the cupboard. But oh well. :P Good job overall, I loved the real objects integrated with the game, sounds were amazing, music was wonderful. I would have liked a menu, but that is just me. Keep it up.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

The atmosphere is well created with the clay and the music (even the teddy bear fits in perfectly). Good job!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27am

Good music and I liked the idea behind the graphics very much!
Couldn't see how it fits the theme though. Still good!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

Good music and I liked the idea behind the graphics very much!
Couldn't see how it fits the theme though. Still good!
Oh, 10 2nd place medals... I see.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Absolutely great. Particularly love the graphics style. Really really good stuff. Extremely clever use of the theme as well.

I wish the game were longer. Hopefully one day it will be :)

Two quibbles - I had to check the walkthrough to make sure I'd actually found the ending as I wasn't sure (I've come across false endings in this kind of game before). Also, after solving the cupboard puzzle you can unsolve it, which strikes me as odd and possibly buggy behaviour.

That said, a great short game, nicely atmospheric, great writing - one of the best I've seen so far.

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Nice work!! Short but great, I loved the graphics and the music.!!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

I absolutely loved most things about this game (if I had to complain about anything it would be its length). Great writing, great atmosphere, incredible visuals and a really fitting tune. I don't know what it had to do with the theme, but I just don't care. Really good, great job!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Man, the music... I let it play for a long time because it was so soothing. :)

I also enjoyed the heavy atmosphere, and the clay backgrounds really sets it apart.

As for the puzzles. Well. I'm glad there were hints available. ;-)

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00am

Awesome clay art ! I don't really understand the use of the newspaper cut... but I reached the exit ! Good game !

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

adorable and brutal. great game.

fmBigBoss says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03am

I never expected to see clay art at all. Really cool, atmosphere was great. Terrifying on a whole new level. Would love to see the game or something of this type extended.
Got stuck initially but I worked it out eventually!

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Beautiful music and art, and the sentiment of being "deserving" actually really struck a chord with me :S
Great work.

BenWhi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:29am

I wasn't able to get very far, but I really appreciated this game. Very original!

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:08pm

It took a while to figure it out but I finally did. :D

I really liked the clay objects and the music. :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:07am

Haha, nice interpretation of the theme, it was unexpected. The game aesthetic reminds me a lot of another indie developer called Thecatamites, if you don't know him already you might want to check his games as some have a very similar style to yours. Good job with this entry!

local minimum says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:53am

Fantastic little contraption, though I'm not clever enough to solve all the riddles but still impressive. It made me want to do a stop-motion game as well, maybe next dare.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:22am

Cool style. I like it very much. Good story telling and mood. But althogh I already played lots of adventure games, I was not able to solve a puzzle without the help of the walktrough - they are very confusing.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:26am

Awesome work. I love the design and the way that the puzzles and story intersected. Could be a bit clearer in parts (but that's usually the case for games like this), but definitely a lot of fun.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:31am

This game is great! I love the clay style. I have not seen many (if any) other point and click games. The puzzles were a lot of fun and really had me going 'Aha!'. I really wish there was more to do. Great work! :)

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

OOOH 10 SECOND PLACE MEDALS I GET IT.

Nice game, the clay art looks awesome and seamless! great music, too.
The puzzles were pretty clever, good thing there were hints haha :)

Jedi says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

I really like the mysty style and the LOVE the plasticine! The music and mood were great. I wanted more game!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]