August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Monkey Escape

by squale - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A mad scientist jailed a monkey and he grafted a helmet allowing him to order. He must escape from every room before the door closes after 10 seconds. For you to order by placing orders on the course.

Use arrows to move the camera and then start placing orders.
It's time to push play !
The time saved can be used later ... Be careful !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#384Innovation3.20
#655Fun2.80
#943Overall2.63
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

exellent work!

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Great concept, it's one of the gameplay style that i like. A puzzle game where you place orders to move a character. It's a bit hard, i have not been able to pass the 4th level. A bit of improvement on user interface will be nice, but it's already good.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

Good game concept

raver says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

Nice, but web version is bugged (sometimes monkey doesn't respond to orders).

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

Neat puzzle game! Maybe you could make a challenge mode where it limits the number of commands you can use. Since you can place as many as you like it starts to get really easy. I really like the story behind the monkey and the use of the theme!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:50am

Interesting puzzle game, the enemy seemed a bit meaningless. Could be a great game with some more polish.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:12am

Interesting concept! At first it wasn't clear to me what the difference was between the up arrow and the up arrow with the line underneath, but once I tried them I figured it out, so it wasn't a big deal.

Spelchan says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Kind of interesting puzzle game but found the monkey moved a bit inconstantly. When I tried adding an element I forgot to a level and ran the level again the monkey did not reach the spot I had a problem with like he did on the first run. As that was the only change, there should have been no difference to where the monkey ended up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]