Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Barrage Trigger - PaulSB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"I'll use what cover I can. And jump-shift when I can't. Goodbye."

Amidst a terrible conflict The Seraph knows that desperate times call for desperate measures. She will charge head first towards the artillery emplacement to give her people one last chance to turn the tide of war.

Barrage Trigger (also known as *BARRAGE//__TRIGGER_^... just because) is a one-button endless runner where you must run, jump and teleport as far as you can before you are overcome by the missile barrage that will arrive every 10 seconds. It is a suicide mission. Good luck.

CONTROLS
========
Click while on ground: Jump
Click on "sparkles" while in air: Teleport to that location

Developed in Flixel with Flixel Power Tools; also Gimp, FL Studio, bfxr.

View PaulSB's journal. | View all entries by PaulSB

Ratings

#318Graphics3.30
#387Mood2.95
#415Audio2.78
#488Theme3.25
#606Innovation2.89
#660Overall2.96
#851Fun2.56
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

The hiding places as resources are a good mechanic. It feels like the if the game was just a bit tighter they would matter more.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

The intro sets a surprisingly serious mood, it feels a little slow in the beginning/after getting stopped but is fun =]

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

Solid runnner! This could very well extended :)

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01am

It takes so long to accelerate! And the music is so chill for a suicide running mission.

Great graphics and style, though. I'm not sure why missiles sometimes seem to hit my head when I'm hiding behind cover.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

Cool game, but it should progress faster, in my opinion. And what is the purpose of teleporting? Also neat art work.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

It might have been more fun with more speed! ;)

PaulSB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Firstly: thanks for playing guys! Good points made I think. It is a bit slow to get going as an incentive not to stop running, despite how dangerous that approach is :)

@Jayjay Ha, yes maybe I got a little caught between moody/dark and sci-fi silliness.
@avh4 Yeah cover is not totally safe; there is a bit of your head sticking out still. Probably a bit harsh on the player.
@CustomPhase Teleporting can get you onto a higher/lower platform, escape a place you might be a bit stuck in or even dodge missiles.

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Cover mechanic is pretty good. It's nice when you decide to risk it and it pays off. Avoiding use of the upper levels, as I tend to get stuck. Teleporting is a nice twist. Agree with others that it's sometimes difficult to get up to speed (and to the next cover point) within 10 seconds.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I liked using the obstacles as a cover system, and I liked the timed aspect of more obstacles.

Good job overall!

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

mechanic is neat, coverage system is nice, I agree that it would be nice if it felt tighter. I also fell through the floors a few times.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Cool concept. I wish the controls felt tighter. Good job!

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:56am

I didn't realize the cover was part of the game and assumed I was supposed to teleport through the Barrages haha. Really beautiful game, cool animation, great colors.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Fun little runner here. nicely done. I think the slow movement getting started isn't enough to make you feel punished, it just feels frustrating when you need to start up again. like paying for something after you have been given it ;) Still, nice graphics and a great game. good work

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

It was a bit too slow for me (maybe it's also because of my bad internet connection).
But nice entry overall.

Orni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

very cool idea & concept

please continue working on this :)

well done

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Enjoyed your art and music. Good work.

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Can't see the point of walkable places above the main track. I love it anyway. Minimalistic and enjoyable. Extra point that this is easy and ALSO endless!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:29am

liked the concept.. worked pretty well could see this being improved and being pretty cool if you kept working on it after the jam.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:14am

More acceleration would have been good. Otherwise, nice game.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:20am

I am not sure if its the game or its just me who is awful at the game.. I think i was suking bad.. although the game looked nice and inviting!

jwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:59am

Could use a bit of fine-tuning, but overall it's pretty fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]