August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Robbery

by BinaryBot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my game, time robbery, made by me, a twelve year old :) Please provide some feedback, so I can continue growing my skills!

Thanks, and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:39am

Well done!

Hexicube says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I suggest saying what the controls are either in-game or on here, I didn't know how to play so I didn't play it. Also, the game goes off the bottom of my screen, I suggest putting the entire game withing this:

<div style="overflow:scroll">
-stuff-
</div>

That way, if the game is bigger than the window, it will add scroll bars. I haven't used HTML in a few months, but that should work.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Yeah, I second the idea of putting the controls on that page, they're WASD for anyone else looking.

I did find I could keep capturing robots and never really felt I was in danger of losing at any point. Maybe the robots could keep getting faster over time or something.

Pebsie says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Pretty nice although the graphics on the things aren't that good.
Plus the site doesn't seem to scroll...

voltorben says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I like how the robots try to dodge you! pretty cool.
But as smudgedcat said, i didn't really feel i was in danger at any point. You should definitively do something about that!

You should also fix the scrolling issue.
To fix it, remove "overflow:hidden;" on line 587 in index.html.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I captured the time back from 41 robbers and died of old age at 307 years!

Maybe if the robots start from a random y-position it would give more a sense of urgency, as now most of the game is spent near the center of the screen, and you have all that other space that the robots do not use.

Good work :D

Tork says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:08pm

It gets boring fast, you win so much time that in the end you are waiting only to finish (I actually just closed the game)

Needs balancing

BinaryBot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

Wow! Thanks for the awesome comments guys, means a lot :)

A lot of you (@voltorben @Pebsie and esspecially @Kexicube)stated the overflow: hidden problem.
This was actually deliberate, because on common browsers, pressing certain keys will scroll the page down, hiding the game element. I put this here to stop it sliding down. I also found out though, that my browser was zoomed out, so I could see I my game, but just found out the at no zoom, it actually chops of the bottom of the game, but not very much.

Something else that was mentioned, the balance in the game, and how it was too easy. I have to admit, this is true, but it just the was I designed the game to give you ten seconds. Thank you for the positive suggestions though, like making the startY axis variable random.

For the WASD mistake, that was just overlooked (forgotten) because of the constant race against time!

For those who mentioned the "quality of the art"...
I completely agree! They are very rushed, to the point where I literally wrote on my table "Press Space!" I am constantly trying to improve my art, but considering that the game is made in little time, I don't think it is a major problem, because In large projects (wink wink the jam) You have the extra time to create better quality sprite and images!

Thank you all so much for the constructive comments, I was not nearly expecting as much as I got :)

BinaryBot.

Jacic says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

It needs a punishment for missing robots. I was able to collect a tenth of the robots and still gain time. Nice idea though!

schnerble says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I tried it, but my monitor is too small to see the whole page :|

Spelchan says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Great concept and the dodging robots made the game challenging until you catch a couple. Once you have time the game becomes boring. Dying of old age was a neat touch, however.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]