August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Need a Lunch Break!

by flyingbear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a construction worker who likes to take lunch breaks. A LOT of lunch breaks. Like, every 10 seconds you need a lunch break.

Made in Game Maker. Photoshop, Skale Tracker, Audacity, sfxr were also used.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#36Humor3.87
#54Overall3.84
#55Theme3.91
#56Graphics4.09
#62Audio3.61
#99Fun3.58
#103Mood3.50
#193Innovation3.53

Comments

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

This game is great, but I do wonder how do all the sandwiches get up to the construction area...

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

This is the best construction themed lunch game I have ever played!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

The is amazing. The art is clean cut and well executed good work! I rated this very highly. :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The Idea feels similar to my game idea. Yours runs much better :)

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very good game. Feels already polished.
The animations made me smile the whole time.

agrdev says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Great idea, graphics, music and level design! Really liked it! Very fun to play.

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Awesome game. Really solid and polished.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Amazing music, awesome art, probably my fav entry so far. Did I mention great music?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Charming. Loved the graphics and music, the game has a lot of charisma.

Mandraw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

this is great !

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Pretty neat, I really enjoyed the construction mechanic.
Great animations and expressive cartoon character.

Without any penalty for death, I found that I just stopped caring and just let myself die. Then I would just run back and keep working. It cut my travel time in half.
BUG: If you build above your last touched lunchbox, the block will fall covering the lunchbox. Now when you die, you wont even teleport, you just get back up where you are. (Players: Try to not do this and just enjoy the game.)

I would be ok with a harder level win condition. It makes sense that as a construction guy, I shouldn't leave extra blocks around, so I should need to leave blocks ONLY in the outlined areas and nowhere else.

Good work!

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

I loved this.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Awesome game! I just wish I could place blocks above me without the need to jump (similar to placing below with down key)

choqaae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

Great art and music

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

Mmmmm sandwiches, great game!

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Really fun to play and some great design. Very nice.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Your idea is great and you have created the game incredible.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Great execution but the gameplay was a bit monotonous at times.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Wonderful! A really enjoyable game with great graphics, audio and gameplay.

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

hahaha actually I think the guy looks more like he has diarrhea and needs a toilet :D ^^. especially when his head gets red :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Funny game! Plays pretty well, liked the character, graphics and music a lot

The gameplay is a bit too simple though. It needs bit more something. More blocks, enemies? Every level is basically same thing and that can get repetitive. There isn't any real punishment for not eating either, so running to the lunchboxes isn't necessary and hurts the game's theme.

But overall this was really solid game and I enjoyed it. Nice job!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04am

Heheh, great minds think alike, huh? Cool that you came up with a block making and smashing mechanic too! :D

Derbdale says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:12pm

This game is really cool, It would be great if you could place blocks upwards 1 block without jumping though

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:38am

Nice game but it needs a harsher death penalty and some kind of thing that give meaning to all the building. Just getting somewhere is too easy and the build challenges only take time.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Haha great stuff, love your art! Check out my game, it's GameMaker as well (with suckier art, of course) :D

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:44am

Really funny game, loved the fatguy's sprite! The only game so far that had any humor in it for me! The music goes along with it nicely, and the simply puzzle mechanics actually gave me some game ideas!

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:49pm

One of the best games I've played.

I like the graphics (expecially the "om-nom-nom" character when he eats :D ), and the music fits well, even if it is a bit repetitive. The sfx, well, they're good enough.

Keep Eating!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

Cute game, nice graphics, good music, and the building concept is interesting :)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:45am

good job

Mesene says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Was adorable :D

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:32am

Awesome graphics! Great sounds. Nice animations! One of the most polished Gamemaker games I have seen this LD. Very original concept! Wonderful take on the theme. 9.1/10.0. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]