August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Phase Warrior

by CogComp - 48 Hour Compo Entry


Phase Warrior

Can you prevent your past from destroying your future?

The aim of the game is to dodge missiles for a short period of time in the Arena.

The only problem is that it's not only your ship that needs to dodge the missiles. A 10 second time-phase-shifted (TM) version of your ship is also vulnerable to the missiles.

Can you anticipate your own movements and protect your past self?

Instructions:
Move the spaceship by clicking in the arena.
Move the ship around avoiding the flaring energy missiles that are homing in on either of the ships.

Some missiles only drain the power of one of the ships, while others will increase the power of the ship.

You can use this to your advantage and absorb a missile before it damages the wrong ship.

Primary tools used to create this little game:
FlashDevelop with Haxe and OpenFL
Sculptris Alpha 6
Gimp 2.8.2
Audacity
Linux Multimedia Studio

Have a look at the video if it's still unclear what you should be doing :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#207Innovation3.50
#363Graphics3.22
#384Audio2.84
#387Mood2.95
#510Theme3.23
#660Overall2.96
#820Fun2.61
#906Humor1.59

Comments

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice idea :3

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Love the art :)

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I managed to escape the missile's wrath for both versions of me by just going in continuous circles. Great abstract graphics and great music.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very interesting. I had much more fun than I expected :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Wow, that's a really interesting concept. I know quite a few games where you have to use your past self to help yourself, and others where you have to fight against your past self, but a game where you have to DEFEND your past self is a new one - I can't remember having seen anything like it before. Innovative and a good use of the theme!

Maybe it's just me, but the game is to fast for me to really think about protecting my past self though - I've my hands full with protecting my current self. I can't remember my past actions all that well either, at least not that fast. I think for me your concept would've lent itself better to a turn-based game or at least something slower. Or maybe that only my past self can take damage, and I have to catch the bullets?

The look of the game is quite unique; I like it! The music and sound effects go well with the general feeling.

All in all, pretty solid. Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

This game is hard but its fun. I tried a number of different movement strategies. THe one that gave me the most success was to move in a tight circle, the missiles tended to gather in the centre.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Super concept, but I found it really hard to protect the past ship. I just turned in circle for all the time avoiding what I could.
The arena is really nice.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Really really good. Everything about this game is good - graphics, sound, gameplay, the lot. Really impressive stuff.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

REALLY innovative idea, but the gameplay gets pretty shallow after a few minutes. The art is really insane and cool, but it looks a bit compressed or something?

Overall, pretty damn cool game and it'd be neat if the idea was expanded on.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

A little confusing at first but really fun!

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Really liked the concept of the game, don't think I've seen anything like it. Hectic fun!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11am

Very enjoyable mechanics! It's a great idea! I couldn't tell if you did this or not (if you did, good job, I'll have to try harder) but, the bullets should come in a specific pattern, so that you can actually coordinate your present and past self to avoid them if you are clever enough-as opposed to your past self kind of being at the mercy of what your are presently trying to avoid. (Again, if you did design it that way, great job! I'll be playing it again later to learn a bit more about it.) The music is good and creates a very "time-travely" atmosphere. This was very excellent!

Laelien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice idea, really, the sound is cool and the graphics pretty neat. However, the UI is too crowded. Way too many stuff on the screen.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Ok this was an impressive mechanic and nice use of the theme. Protecting your past self was fun, though had no time to think about things that would be happening 10 seconds later what with the dodging and all. Amazing graphics btw.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I like the original twist!

Metatheos says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I found the best strategy to be just going in circles and gathering energy behind (which pretty much guarantees to not run into the clone or having to avoid trailing projectiles). At some point I collected everything at once by crossing over to my old self just to make up for some random hits. Interesting concept, but with this strategy there was too little diversion for the length of the game. I also had trouble understanding the reason behind the non-square-playfield. What I really liked was the gritty look of the game, reminds me of old prerendered-sprite-games, and it is supported really well by the music.

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:23pm

fun and simple! very tough after a while.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]