August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spacecrap

by celeron55 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the captain of an intergalactic spaceship that has drifted off course by 10 arcseconds. You need to steer it back, but more often than not you're out of fuel or parts of the ship are broken.

But there is hope! Your ship is equipped with an unbreakable grapple for collecting stuff on your way at intergalactic speeds.

If you get stuck, just hit the retry button to roll a new starting situation. Finishing can sometimes be completely impossible.

***

Made in HTML5/Javascript; works in modern web browsers. Works best in Chrome/Chromium, but Firefox goes too (expect a bit of choppiness at first).

Tools used: Vim, Git, Chrome, Firefox, ZynAddSubFX, Seq24; Libraries used: H1eDPI.js, Zepto.js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood4.04
#30Innovation4.00
#48Audio3.65
#64Overall3.78
#110Fun3.56
#272Graphics3.38
#375Humor2.60
#584Theme3.15
#1773Coolness20%

Comments

voltorben says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:27pm

i really loved the feel and atmosphere of this! and i wish i knew what the fuck i was doing :) I'd love a more detailed guide, because it seems there is quite a lot of things in this game.

I really love the radar thingy, with the mouse over on different objects. Really cool.
And awesome music!

i do wish you hadn't made the interface all ms paint style. Could have been really pretty with a pixel font and some nice rounded/shaded pixel boxes.

Good work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37am

I liked it! I got raided by pirates like every time lol. As Volt said, a more detailed guide would be cool.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

It took me a minute to figure out what to do, but as soon as I was repairing stuff and controlling the thrusters, I started having a lot of fun with it. I think there is a really good idea here, with some refinement and a slight upgrade to the UI, I think you have a really killer game. Cool idea.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42am

I loved this - reminded me of an old submarine simulator I used to play on the Amstrad :)

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Holy UI Batman!

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I really wanted to understand how to play this but I just didn't get it. I love the feeling of it, though.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I really like it! Is it ok that pirates steal all my parts and cargo whenever I go close to the target? Played twice and both times the same damn pirate!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I had a hard time figuring out what was going on, but I love the look, and the music is spot on.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Felt a bit impenetrable at first but when I started to get it I really liked it. Good work!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

Well, the UI looks amazing, but I have no idea what I'm doing. A tutorial or video playthrough would be incredibly helpful for this game. Still, this game looks so great that I have to rate it highly even if I don't quite get what's going on.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Awesome atmosphere and game!
The '10 seconds' theme wasn't obvious.
Even if the game is quite slow (not 10 seconds! ;) ), the mood is really powerful to make the player stay :)

kibertoad says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:27am

awesome mood. great job with the graphics and music, very sexy oldschool vibe.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:41pm

This game is amazing... One of my favorites in LD 27 so far. The music reminds somehow of Star Control 2 musics and the atmosphere created is incredible for simple graphics.

The strategic deepness of this game is very nice, somewhat rare in most of LD entries.

Really amazing job! Hope you continue its development.

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:31am

Oh I like repairing the ship! The UI is completly awesome, great selection of colors. The music is great too. Cool entry!

loxo says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Really great game, I enjoyed playing it very much! But I don't like the hand drawn headings, apart from that the graphics are ok.

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:28am

Great stuff.

Anachron says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:51am

A good challenge and rad near-CGA styling!

Capro says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:03am

Quite complicated but very interesting. Good work!

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Awesome little game. I really like the weird ui and the fact that you have to figure it out in order to win

echa says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Great

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

If it has GUI like in Star Trek, it would be super-awsome I think :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]