August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mr.President! (Web)

by Richard Matey - Jam Entry

Have you ever wanted to be Kevin Costner in the movie "The Body Guard"!

Well boy I got the game for you! It's called Mr.President!

Play as a secret service agent and take a bullet for Mr.President!

Move and jump to catch the bullet it in mid air.

Yes!Yes!Yes! It is possible to save the president.

4 - Whole levels of supreme value!

PLAY FOR FREEEEEEEEE

WASD - to Move
Space Bar - to Dive

Made By Richard Matey & Brenton Sewell

We also have Greenlight so if you had fun serving your country give us a Yes! http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=174196540

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#7Humor(Jam)4.25
#16Fun(Jam)3.85
#36Innovation(Jam)3.80
#94Overall(Jam)3.56
#110Mood(Jam)3.43
#241Graphics(Jam)3.46
#243Audio(Jam)2.98
#263Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21am

Well that was quite interesting! Cool graphics, nice physics in the background... I wish the "turn left and right" buttons were a bit less sensitive but otherwise that's an original take on the theme :) Good job!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22am

Well for the physics, I mean the objects, the bodies are thrown so fast!! That's one big sniper bullet hahaha!

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

Really hard game! Good thing it's funny just to watch the character awkwardly fling himself around.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

Oh man, from the moment I read "ever wanted to be Kevin Costner from The Bodyguard" I knew this one was going to be good. So funny!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

A funny idea. Control are a bit off (especially left/right) and the precision it take is kinda frustrating. But it's original and the music for the fourth and last jump make me laugh.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

What a great entry! I had a bunch of fun with this, even with the simplicity. The turning controls need some serious tweaking but the ragdoll physics really make it worth while :D

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Very fun and addictive!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

The premise is a little... disturbing. But the graphics are AMAZING and the execution is great (no pun intended). This is very polished for 48 hours.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Woah, a little sensitive on the A/D keys, but pretty cool =]

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Thanks for the feedback guys! I will definitely tune the controls.

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Best physics of LudumDare27 right here.
Game was really fun.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00am

LOL, you're right, it IS a lot like mine! Only my graphics are WAY more involved. ;) I loved your game. I was laughing outloud watching the President get shot and then seeing me dive in too late, or just diving way too short.

Nice touch with the song at the end as well. Maybe I should add that to my ending as well...

Well done.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19am

haha.. i managed to win and lose at the same time =).. cause i didnt get shot.. but something blocked the bullet haha..

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Timing that jump is so hard, there's no way to know...I guess I'm not trained in the arts of body-guarding! I only got to level 2 :P

I had a good laugh every time that bullet hits the president. Not in a political way, but how ridiculously powerful that shot is. It must be rocket rounds.

Brilliant concept!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38am

BRILLIANT. this game manages to maintain a pleasant verisimilitude with the more or less accurate physics.

5ants team says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29am

That was fun!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55pm

came back to play it again.. =).. managed to jump in a circle to save the prez..

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

OH MY GOD! This is the most fun / hardest i've laughed in so long! Guys I'm giving you five freakin stars in humor and overall this is the gem of LD!

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

I got a kick out of the physics reactions to the shots. I LOL'd pretty hard at the finale. Cool game!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

This was a very unique game, and funny too!

I had a laugh several times as I missed the mark and saw the president being thrown about ;P

Great premise, and great game!

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

i'd fail as a secret service agent

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:23am

Physics were a bit glitchy but it was actually quite fun. Cool Graphics! And loved the humor. Well done!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Well that was very silly and fun due to the ragdoll physics!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I have ALWAYS wanted to be Kevin Costner in 'The Bodyguard'! Highlights of this hugely enjoyable game for me were:

-The bullet is sensationally high-velocity.

-The bodyguard is wearing an implausibly tight suit.

-Whitney Houston.

I did actually complete the game and I was left wanting more. I really hope your Greenlight takes off. If it does, may I request a key which allows you to put your hand to your ear as if receiving unspecified instructions. :D

Really, great work!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Neat idea, but the execution was a little lacking. It was hard to determine when you jump or how to actually save him. Seemed like luck. Could see having a bullet time type mode where you could steer slightly and aim into the bullets path. Would develop this further, good idea.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

laughed so much! the ending is hilarious!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03am

Ok, I tried like 50 times, I never managed to save him :( , but that was really funny xD

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Finished it! The first and the last level are the hardest. The music at the last level is a REALLY nice touch. One of my favorites for sure!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:56pm

You simply can't go wrong with physics-based flailing flying bodies - they are always hilarious. This is no exception. Nice game guys.

fishbrain says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:59pm

lol!.. this is brilliant! well done!...

triforcespark says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:32am

It was a bit difficult at first (too much trial and error) but it didn't made me quit the game, because it was fun :))

Static 64 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I've been here before, but I had to come back and play again. Good luck on greenlight.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:08am

i cant play it. why?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]