August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Run

by GagaPete - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Story*
You're a small, sticky slime without a clue where you come from. All you knwo is that you need to run. You have to leave the rooms before the alert gets triggered (every room will detect you after *10 seconds*) or deadly traps will be activated. You can also collect pointless collectibles. :)

*Enviroment*
I developed this game in Google Chrome, but it works in Firefox with some graphic glitches. I'll do the Bugfixes for Firefox and other browsers in the next days.

*Controls*
Movement Arrow Keys
Jump Space
Use Enter
Return/Exit ESC

*Nerdy HTML5 gimmick*
If you have a XBox 360 gamepad and a recent Google Chrome you can enable an experiment control scheme. First press a button on the gamepad while the tab has focus, then open the debugger and execute "app.controlsMode = 'gamepad'".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#683Innovation2.79
#726Mood2.50
#737Fun2.70
#758Overall2.86
#768Humor1.91
#781Graphics2.53
#1088Theme2.35

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

My favorite part is the character movement, walking on all the walls, upside down, etc. I think you have a really great idea here. I like that you can continue to play the levels even after all the spikes are out, it's just a lot tougher. I think there's definitely some potential to expand this one, too.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I found the controls a bit awkward with this game which is a shame because I really like the visuals. It seemed like sometimes I could walk of an edge and sometimes I couldn't.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I like the art and animation. I also like the idea to make it possible to beat levels even when your 10 second limit is out.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Thanks, I'm quite sure I'll add some polishing (and more levels) next weekend. But I'll leave the original intact and link the improved version on the page. Just to comply to compo rules.

@SmudgedCat: You mean this, "stick to ceiling when leaving there is no ground below" behavior in one height tunnels? That bugs me as well but I ran out of time before I could fix it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I really liked this game, but it is hard for me to get passed level 2 when the spikes come out. Matter a fact I gave up. XD Good use of the theme, if only there were a way to hit the fuse box and give yourself another 10 seconds :P I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vsw

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Fun game, graphics are simple but works.
Controls are a little rough but I add a good time playing this.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Cool idea, a little vvvvvvv meets super meat boy. It was a bit tough though, mostly because it was difficult to control (for me).

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59am

Really enjoyed wall walking!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15pm

This is nice little game, a bit tough in places but I like the wall sticking mechanic

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:07pm

I like the heavy gravity feel. sadly i could not get past the second level cause i could jump jump past the spike on the right.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

On certain levels, you can't finish unless you actually beat it within 10 seconds. How do you restart a level? Do you actually have to press Esc and then play again?
It's a neat game though, but the controls are a bit weird.

Zerot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice little game. shame there is no music or sound effects. Theme could have been implemented a bit clearer(e.g. visible countdown)

phaed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

I really like the non-traditional platformer physics in this game. I like that jumping off a sideways wall moves you sideways instead of up. I kept forgetting that traps were going to activate in 10sec...

GagaPete says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Thank you all for your feedback. Now I'm sure I'll make a second ("full") game out of it.

@Jupiter_Hadley: May I'll use your fuse idea for hard levels :D

@davidwparker: Comparing my small game to these two masterpieces is a huge compliment. Thank you.

@Pinktreeleaf: SPOILER: Stand right on the platform, jump left. :)

@Diventurer: The only level that is you can not fully comple after the spikes are out is the third one where you have to get the bottle in time. The other levels can be beaten after 10 seconds fully (tried myself). Sadly there is no restart at this point. May coming releases will completely reset the room on death.
The bottles are sadly more decoration since I haven't finished their use. More in a blog post later.

@Zerot: I know, I'm kicking myself for not taking time doing any sort of soundtrack. The countdown was displayed in the left corner of the screen first but got lost while making the menu and help screens. When I got aware, I thought making these little displays would be nice.

Just because I'm curious, to those who played trough, what was your time?

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Hey, graphics are cool but the spike very frustrating, can you restart the timer when we dead ?

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

If you play the game in Opera, some weird and funny bugs occur, it's like switching every frame between two instances of the game.
Sticking to walls was really fun, this game is really great.
Oh, and my time was 115 seconds.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

@Makio: Not atm, I'm thinking about implementing this as a fix fot a win condition bug. Otherwise levels are possible to finish after time (except for the bottle in room three) so I'll probably delay this function for a post-compo version.

@klianc09: I've seen this bug in the IE as well. I'll look into it later. The game is probably initalised twice by accident. Thank you for telling me. Oh, and your time is nice. Happy to see that it is beatable for others as well. :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:13am

I really liked how you use the 10 seconds: "If you can be fast it's ok, otherwise it will be harder".
The aptitude of the slime to move on every walls disregarding gravity gives an excellent gameplay.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Thank you, Colapsydo.

The game is now working in my opera and I'll test IE soon. The only downside in this browser is that graphics are scaled smooth there for now.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

The wall sticking really threw me off since I'm so used to that not being an issue in platformers. I kind of liked having to re-train my brain to adapt. There's something very satisfying about bounding off the walls.

The jumping mechanics felt a bit off. For example, when your momentum was going right, and you hit left, I wouldn't expect to immediately have all momentum move int he left direction.

As others have said, this could definitely use some polish, but it's quite fun, and I enjoyed it.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Like it but the controls dont feel intuitive to me. Naming of the rooms was a nice touch.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice change from usual platformers. I liked the wall and ceiling clinging. It could use a bit better graphics to make it stand out, grey is in my mind the dullest choice for backgrounds. Nice game otherwise :)

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:52am

Nice game. It was neat sticking to walls. Could have been a lot better with some music/sounds, timer, and a restart button.

crashbanito says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:12pm

This game gets incredibly difficult after that 10 seconds. Not a bad game by any stretch although it is quite an unforgiving one.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice character you have. I loved mastering the controls! They are innovative for a platformer. And great that you did the restart instantly after die. This is a great game.

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:41am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_e-LykTg1A My first impressions video on the game ^^

GagaPete says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:37am

Thank you for the kind words, and big thanks to Antidote. It is always better to see the problems others have with the game. May I'll start doing video feedback for the next Ludum Dare as well.
I see now what the problems with the controls are and will use this information for the post-compo version.

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Being able to stick to a wall makes this game way more fun than it would be without. But it felt wrong to me, that you have to press up to move up when you stick to the wall. Don't know why, but I'm always trying to press right in that case :O

GagaPete says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:57pm

@bitowl Thanks for your feedback. I'll check out some ways to make the controls more intuitive to the majority of players.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]