August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Die very very fucking Hard

by pereubu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kill the terrorists

Defuse the bomb

Do it again ...

DvvfH is a solo/multiplayer epilleptic experiment on basic maniac top down shooters. I spent a lot of time and making everything wiggly just for you.
If you can't play it there are few gifs on my profile

Thank you for playin' :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#74Graphics3.98
#94Fun3.59
#127Humor3.29
#130Mood3.43
#147Overall3.56
#328Theme3.39
#399Audio2.81
#702Innovation2.77

Comments

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

ho no my eyes!!!! I can't see...
Exellent work. but too easy theme exploitation.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Let me guess, you had a huge headache by the time you finished this game.

Very fun though. Very hard too.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17pm

I like the visuals but at some point they would probably drive me nuts. One thing concerning game design: it's very hard to play a top down shooter when the aiming and the movement art not separated. I would like to be able to aim to shoot while also dodging bullets. Also, the game becomes incredibly easy when you disregard the monkeys and just run at the bomb to defuse.

Blecta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

The game is fun and graphics are cool but the colors are too flashy for me. Good job !

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Those visuals! It's like LSD-infused care bear puked on my screen.


Nicely done.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very cool visual style (even if they made me a bit dizzy after some time) and concept. Cool idea, reminds me of old LCD games.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very very very fucking fun ;)

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Awesome crunchy effects... bullets felt super satisfying to shoot. Love the title and the loadscreen "FUCK YOU" announcer!

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Awesome game, really enjoyed playing it - Random levels make playing it again fun, However the flashing lights can become annoying after a while.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Absolutely beautiful visuals, I love it.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Great graphics and overall presentation. Shooting is difficult though, I can't always seem to shoot in the direction I want.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

#rylgh the "fuck you" jingle comes with le KLDK collective splashscreen. you can hear it in every other KLDK entries of this ludum dare :3

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really tight game design. Feel like the shooting would have been better to lock it's direction once you start shooting (to let you strafe), but otherwise really nice. Looks amazing too.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Whoa, I love this. My eyes are bugging out, but I love it. Really fun.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Is each level randomly generated? Or do you have a set of levels you choose from, and pick one of those randomly each time?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I rofled at your voice acting XD.
The recoil and spread is a very nice touch. Overall very stylish!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I love the visuals, but like others mentioned, it gets a bit hard... to look at after awhile, haha. Graphics were top notch. The controls were a bit hard to get used being use to things like Hotline Miami or Binding of Isaac where movement/shooting is separated. Overall, a great entry!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

I think it took me twenty tries to get a bomb defused, and I cut the right wire on accident. It took another ten tries to do it on purpose.
I like the wild colors and frantic gameplay, though it does make my head hurt after too many plays.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31am

You should add a warning for epileptic people ^^ Fun game

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Otherwise pretty nice and well done game, the rapid firing was fun, but argh my eyes. Too much flashing.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:53am

Haha, the announcer was unexpected, nice touch :D Sweet graphics! It's a bit too easy, though...

rianoto says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very fun and addictive ! I defused 5 bombs !

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:16pm

great game - didn't expect anything less from you :)
enjoyed it a lot, very well done

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice game! Reminds me of that move Die Hard. Have you seen that?

Pol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

It's a reference to this very movie, heh. Didn't you recognize that cute Bruce Willis ?

fluffypillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice pixel art! The controls were a bit weird at first but can get used to it.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:12pm

great graphics, fun gameplay, humorous design.

agumaster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:26pm

addictive gameplay, epileptic graphics, nice sound and music... this is just awesome

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Qwerty and windows users only? Too bad you lost a huge potential audience... including me.
The game looked awesome, it's sad.

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:55pm

well its cuz I'm using game maker, i'm sorry. And I had not enough time to implement the french keyboard support.

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Just allowing the first player to use arrows or WASD would have been enough :)

I would switch my keyboard to QWERTY if I could, but the full screen mode switches automatically back to AZERTY. :(
I've seen a lot of games forcing the player to use WASD and I understand one does not think first of the bunch of french language speakers when he choses the inputs for his game.
I'm mostly sad because I really wanted to play your game.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:03pm

The art is phenomenal, love it. The characters especially work nicely against it. If this had some music it would have been killer though. Also the aiming was something I wasn't fond of but perhaps after playing for a while I would. If I was to play for longer, I would reduce the intensity of the graphics perhaps only go crazy every so often. Good work though. :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Aiming was a real problem. I was trying to make a game that could fit in an arcade with 1 stick and 2 buttons. I'll probably take some time rethinking the aiming system

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I would have also wished to fire in another direction then I walk. Maybe lock the direction you are facing while holding down the shoot button? This would make the game a little bit easier. And either my eyes are just confused by your graphics or there is a bug where no matter which wire I cut, the bomb still explodes...

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I got a massive headache from playing this game. Other than that, I loved the character design and the how frantic the shooting was :)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]