August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Eiradirian Timejumpers

by blay09 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

> Warning: This game will bring you a challenge and will take time to master.
Because of this I've made an open level selection so you can start at any point in the story, however I recommend starting from the ... start. ;)

> I suggest you don't skip the dialogs the first time you play. They explain how the game works.

> Be on lookout for buttons, they're attached to walls and open gates! Some of them are timed though and they only last for two seconds, so use your brain!

> Enemies react to both sound and sight. You can sneak past them by holding SHIFT.

> OS/X: As usual the game might not run on OS/X. I can't test it since I have no Mac, but feel free to leave a comment with an error message and I'll see if I can fix it.

Eiradirian Timejumpers is a game about a fictional war between two fictional fronts and an imperfect time machine. You play Konrad Knox, Leader of the Eiradirian PG Circle and your goal is to bring chaos to the ILL Agency.
With the new time travelling device the mysterious weapon smuggler and businessman "The Romanian" got you, you are going on a mission to destroy one of ILLA's main bases.

The controls are mostly explained IG as you progress, and so are the game mechanics. However, for completeness sake, here's a short summary:

W/A/S/D: Move (Arrow Keys work too but are not recommended)
H (in Level Selection): Toggle Hardcore Mode
C (in Level Selection): Show Credits
SPACE: Create SyncPoint
SHIFT: Sneak
LEFT CLICK: Primary Attack
RIGHT CLICK: Melee Attack
ENTER or MIDDLE CLICK: Next Dialog Message
SHIFT + ENTER: Skip Dialog
E + aiming at target: Trigger button / Set bomb duration
1, 2, 3: Switch Weapon

Use the mouse to aim.

Thanks to Konrad Knox for this beautiful fanart:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#244Humor2.87
#353Theme3.37
#373Innovation3.22
#489Overall3.12
#527Audio2.60
#566Fun2.92
#580Mood2.70
#719Graphics2.62

Comments

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Nice!
I got stuck when creating a checkpoint in front of the guards and then it was all pew pew pew and I couldn't do anything but restart.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13pm

A nicely done entry but could have done with adding in music.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Cool sound effects! ;)
The game is pretty hard, but I like it :)

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

This was totally charming, especially the sound effects, well done.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

This is something I can imagine in new grounds popular section

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

A lot of depth for a compo really impressed.

nice game.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Damn, this is some pretty hard stuff, not to mention there's tons of content. Good job!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

A really interesting concept with actually adding in previous playthroughs of yourself, awesome!

Took a little while to get a hang of but pretty fun!

trueyomic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

I watched blay09 code this as I also use Java + libgdx and it was fun to watch. Very good game and challenging difficulty while still beatable with practice.

Hope you get high votes!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:27am

This game is very nice! I really like the idea. I found the game to be very hard, but it did have some interesting puzzles. I liked the audio and the graphics very much.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02am

Really awesome game.. Great job!

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

Roflmao, The "ILL". I played for a while, but I'm really bad at it, so I didn't get massively far. Did you put me in it? :P . And if so, what level? xD

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

@Alex Rose: I only gave the three main characters a name to prevent people from getting butthurt. I'll make sure to give you a siderole in my next game of the Eiradirian branch ;P

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Interesting graphics, good job. :)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Very Hard D: ... But awesome, really like it :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Cool game!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

Really interesting concept, though I think the execution left it really hard to figure out a good strategy. I wasn't able to beat any of the levels, as I kept seeing myselves, tripping alarms, etc. Still, very cool concept. I'd like to see something like this become a full game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

quite the game! everybody walks around and wants to hug people :)

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

Loved it! Really fun overall :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Man, this is the best concept around 10 seconds I've seen so far. Great execution, very fun to play. Highest grade :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:03am

Really interesting idea

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:27pm

good job

Laelien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Too bad I couldn't actually play, since my keybord isn't WASD and even changing its layout wouldn't work. Looks very interesting and well made.

senseidav says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice game concept. At last too much "mines" to control..

It would have been fine a little of music. The FX are owncreated and are funny.

Keep on the line.

jwolf says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Difficult, but really fun and interesting! I really like your take on the theme.

crueltear says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:24pm

These sounds are cool d; I destroyed every possible timeline, got killed around hundred times, yet i find this game nice. It has story, it has shootings and it hurt my brain :F

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:21pm

This is insanely difficult and fun. I like the sound effects :)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:30pm

It's very hard game. :) I like challenge! Good job! ;-)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:26pm

interesting game comics

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Intrestig idea)) But too hard for me)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]