August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bat Massacre

by ItsSacraficed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My officialy 3rd enter to LudumDare but second proper entry.

Mouse controlled game, click the bats and the bat will die and u will get points, between waves u can spent your points but in the end it all matters till what wave u made it and what your score is!

With Q u can toggle between batFx on or off.

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#592Humor2.18
#829Audio1.93
#910Theme2.73
#929Mood2.20
#1003Fun2.32
#1068Overall2.43
#1113Innovation2.02
#1150Graphics1.69

Comments

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

Pretty cool game.
How did you get it to be a .jar and a .exe? just curious.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

Thanks, erhm I used JarSplice, and normally my res folder would be in the jar but somehow that didn't work properly so I put it all in a jar.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14am

*rar Sorry for double post don't know how to edit previous comment :P

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

A bit easy, i think 100 lives are too much

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

The bat-death noises remind me of Ultima Online. :D Nice game - some polish to the graphics and menus would make it even more appealing. The bats are just tiny enough to be infuriating :D

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14am

Hey there. Nice entry. I stopped after a few minutes, since my click finger got irritated. It's not anything I haven't seen before, but still a job well done.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

@tiffy well yeah atm it is kinda easy but how I had it first it was kinda to hard so I tried to balance it and well this way it was nicest balance when you wanna get more expensive upgrades. @rusty Hehe thanks :) the menu buttons between waves are on purpose on the side else you would click on them all the time and I agree but okay :p, @mekuri thnx oh I never really had an irratating finger guess I'm used to click :P, and thanks :).

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

Needs some kind of weapon upgrade, as in 10 minutes I think I have clicked a weeks worth of Diablo :D

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice game, would have loved to see a bigger cursor upgrade to kill bats in a wider radius. They really become too much around wave 20 and now my finger hurts.
But I had fun.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

Yeah but I didnt really know what :p.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

@marcellus well thats a key thats missing but thats probally also through I didnt really have that issue I've played it legit alot n didn't have any pain in my fingers xD

HardScore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

A simple yet fun game, well done. Apparently massacring bats is a very fun activity, especially with the squeking sound that they make :)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13am

@HardScore hehe thanks :)

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

I hate to admit, but I played this for 30 minutes or so, got to level 79 and stopped only because my index finger started to hurt. :)

Well done, this is a good example of a game with just the core mechanics, plus something achievable.

By the way, the helper that says it costs 225 points actually costs only 200. :)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

@manabreak oh darnit well original price was 200 n then I thought I make it a bit harder to get but I guess I didnt change that price then in the code..

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Ok should been fixed minor bug not game changing so fits within the rules, to bad I'm not allowed to add another upgrade for mouse :P

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice and cool game! Well done :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice fun little game! Love it!

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

thnx :)!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

It got me to play till level 20 but it kind of needed a few more mechanics / options / boss fights (?) ;)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

wave 20 is nothin :p wave 20 is still kinda easy but I'm adding more upgrades n such, so I got improved versions but Its not uploaded here because thats illegal. I think ill soon post link here in my post to no ludum version :), n thnx for the idea I'll try to put it in :)

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Oww, my finger hurts. :D Clicked at least 13 minutes and got to wave 81 before stopping. I guess it could have gone on forever. :D After getting all the upgrades it was just crazy clicking for 10 seconds, then more crazy clicking to refill HP (score was incrementing faster than I was able to spend it). So yea, probably needs some different weapons or something. But it was very addictive, I just _had_ to get all the upgrades. :D

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Hehe Yay Iknow that feeling :D, and yeah I'm making an improved version with some mouse upgrades(not to cheap tho) and maybe some big boss battles or so?, and yes it goes on for ever :p, well at least till u die.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Haha, pretty cool! 100 lives though o_o Either way, I liked it! :D

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Really addictive game!
With better graphics this game can be awesome

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Yeah working on a improved version atm :), so hopefully one day better graphics n HP is reduced to 50 might change that as well but this is the 48 hours version :).

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Good work ...congrats on your 3re LD48

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Thanks :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

good job

kratorspore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Engaging but needs a bit of balancing.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49am

I love the noise the bats make when you kill them. :)

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:12am

addictive little game, bats are a pita to hit!

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Do you know how damn hard this is with a touchpad? >_<
Anyway, hooked up a mouse and tried this proper.

It's pretty fun, it could have done with more variety of powerups to keep interest for longer.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:00am

Nice work. The killing a bat sounds like "icky bottle" haha. At least you added sounds. Nice graphics. Good work! 5/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]