August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Runner Up

by Jeremy Nikolai - Jam Entry

------
Controls:

Left/Right, A/D, or J/L to steer
Spacebar to use powerups

(android):
Touch the left or right side of the screen to steer
Tap both (left + right) to use a powerup

There's only one track. I had planned on doing more, but didn't get back to it in time.

------
Powerups:
(I didn't really explain these in the game, so here they are):

Teleport (blue thing, meant it to look like the star trek teleporter beam, though it totally doesn't): Teleports you to a random point within your current lap

Speed boost (Yellow fast-forward arrows), uhm, makes you go faster.

Heavy (Anvil), slows you down, and makes you heavier (if you bump/get bumped by another car, you won't get knocked as far)

Trap (blue splat), drop it behind you, stops anyone who runs into it.

------
Theme:

I was going off an alternate interpretation of the theme: The idea was to do a racing game where you were trying to get second, for ten races -- 'ten seconds'. It's a tenuous connection, I know, and it doesn't read all that well in what's there.

If the AI were trying for the same goal (and used powerups, etc, towards that), I still think it could make for some interesting scenarios --right now though, they're oblivious.

------
Story:

The half-hour-from-deadline version of the story, as copied/pasted from the game:

The end-of-the-world is coming. World leaders decided the only way to stop it is to sacrifice ten virgins to the gods by throwing them into volcanoes.

Participants are chosen at random, and forced to run a race.

The winner of each race gets to be sacrificed.
The runner-up gets to compete again in the next race as a consolation prize. All the rest are also given to the volcano, as palate cleansers.

To keep anyone from cheating, all the cars have their brake lines cut and gas pedals bolted down.

You were chosen to run the race.

If you want to live, you'll have to come in 2nd in each of the ten races.

You just need ten seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#262Humor(Jam)2.50
#277Fun(Jam)2.97
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#321Mood(Jam)2.85
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88
#369Overall(Jam)2.94
#476Graphics(Jam)2.61

Comments

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Not Found

The requested URL /LD27/RunnerUp-win.zip was not found on this server.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51am

should be fixed now.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

It seems to be a/f nor a/d for steering, at least for me anyway. Other than that, it's a smooth little racer that works well.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

Nice concept, I'm glad to find one (so far) that used the theme not related to time. 2 problems: I don't know where the finish line is. The game (windows version) seems to crash when hitting the skip buttons after the first playthrough.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

Hm, overall pretty great! A few small problems when first playing: I couldn't steer with A/D,Left/Right works fine, though. The power-ups were not well described by their images. And I do not understand how this fits the theme. Music would have been nice since this is a Compo entry, but oh well. The second time I played this, it randomly crashed hm. Nice job for the most part! With just a tiny bit of polishing, this game could be turned into an amazing title. KEEP. IT. UP.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09am

@jay, you're right -- thanks. I always use IJKL, so I had typo'd it and never even noticed it.

reuploaded, with A/D input and the crash on second playthrough fixed.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13am

The cars were cute, but i had no idea why i lost...

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06am

Neat racing game.
@Typedeaf you have to be the second, not the first.

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

Very nice! I like retro racing car games

vandriver says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I love this control scheme on racers. Super Sprint was one of my favorite nes games. I feel like there needed to be more powerups or a wider view to see more racers to really feel like I was more in control of orchestrating a second place finish. Also I'd randomly drop from first to fourth.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

nice gameplay!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Love the back story involving virgins and volcano's! Can I get the source anywhere? I cannot execute 64-bit.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Good entry, had fun with it

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08am

@keyboardmonkey, added a 32-bit windows build... I don't have a machine to test it on, so let me know if it works.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47am

haha, totally missed the part where I Was supposed to come 2nd.

Loved it

sound?

it was very smooth, I liked it a lot

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50am

Nice alternative interpretation of the theme, and the racing was quite well made and fun, though the teleport powerup was kinda strange and the results seemed weird - twice I was in second place going into the last straight and suddenly my position was rapidly changing to 1st or 4th, so I ended up in a volcano. :/

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:08am

Fun, clever little idea. It controls extremely smoothly. Trying to get into second is funny but kind of stressful; also the teleport and anvil powerups are all but useless. Also, might want to make the intro screen buttons say "Next" instead of "Skip."

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

woow! I love retro racing games! :)
I like steering wheels, collisions and controls in general.
I'd like a more sliding car, but I also like current behavior.
Another word... Where can I find the interpretation of the "10 seconds" theme?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Good gaem

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I like the word play around the theme, but you're treading through dangerous grounds.
In any case, the fact that we have to lose the race is quite interesting and difficult to manage for me. :P
Loved the "You didn't get 2nd place, and got tossed into a volcano" bit. XD

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I really like this game. Your interpretation of the theme is very interesting I haven't seen anything close to yours this far.
Being second is more challenging that it seems at first sight!
Sadly I have noticed a bug in the rank, and sometimes it says I am 3rd or 1st while I am really second. Also the AI seems to struggle in the second race (counter clock-wise). But maybe this is intended (which is fine).

Anything else is great. Maybe some different tracks would have been a good addition (I only reached race 2).

Great job.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I like this take on the theme, and the controls worked perfectly which made it really addicting.

I did encounter a few bugs- one when I kept "bumping" after driving through the grass, and another where I was in 2nd place the entire race but still lost. That one happened twice, so I'm pretty sure I can't win. :c

But like I said the controls worked perfectly, and I could see this being a really fun little racing game. The wheels on the car even changed direction when you turned, nice touch!

bitowl says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:50pm

wow! I really like your take on the theme and how the controls feel :)
The only thing that is strange to me is why its so "glibberish" when you are of the street. would be better if you'd just be slowed down

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:58am

Nice interpretation of the theme, cool to see something different. I found it very difficult however. Maybe some more powerups? The AI was so consistently clumped together I had a hard time sneaking in. I oscillated between 1st and 4th most of the time. If you keep working on this (and I recommend you do) it would be interesting for the different AI cars to have different goals. Like some also understand that being second is ideal but otherwise are looking to win. That and some obstacles or more powerups would significantly spread out the racers and improve strategy in my opinion. Very unique and interesting mechanic!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Fun little game, although I am not sure how to use the powerups on my android device.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]